Once Upon A Time…a serial part 2

gateway_arch2.jpg I got to the Arch early. I was eager to see my romantic plan unfold (especially the making out part). And I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And then a friend of hers showed up, an older student who was coordinating the schedule and other details for the group. Orville. I didn’t really like Orville or Clyde, the other coordinator, because I was pretty sure they were both trying to convince Donna that she would be much happier dating them than dating me. (that’s why I’m giving them names like Orville and Clyde in this otherwise true story) I’m standing there, under the Arch, late afternoon sun beating down on me as I see Orville approaching.

“Hey, Brian, I, uh, I’ve got some bad news…” He smiles.

A tip. Never, ever smile when you are about to give someone bad news. It’s only reasonable that they’ll think the bad news is good news to you and they’ll likely be clenching their fist to punch you because they figure you’re about to break up with them on behalf of their girlfriend who you’ve been stalking for a couple months now and seeing more of her than he has…

“The van the team is traveling in has broken down in Rolla and they’ll be late.”

“Oh, thank God!” I said.

“What?”
“Um, I mean, um, how late?”

“I’m not sure, but Donna called and wanted me to find you and let you know. You can come up to my room and wait if you want.”

So much for making out. We went up to his room and we waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Do you have any idea how difficult it is to make small talk (which is hard for me at the best of times) with a guy you are pretty sure has a crush on your girlfriend?

The phone rings again. It’s the group. Here’s the story: the van had blown a tire, while fixing the tire the whole group had to get out of the van, while out of the van a large, stray dog approached the group and one of the girls, no doubt saying, ‘aahhhhhh’ in compassion, reached out to pet the dog and the thing bit her.

And then ran off.

The whole group then loaded up in the re-tired van and drove her to the local hospital in Rolla to have the doctors check out the wound and check her for rabies. They would be there a while. A long while.

To be continued…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once Upon A Time…a serial part 2

  1. no says:

    this is stupid

    Indeed. But true.

  2. haha says:

    hahahaha. your dumb and desperate.

Leave a Reply

