Things I Was Going To Be When I Grew Up

old-me.jpg This list is basically in chronological order with some overlap. It starts at about age 3 and goes up from there.

1) Vampire
2) Batman
3) G.I. Joe
4) Journalist: Carl Kolchak specifically
5) Oceanographer: I grew up in the Midwest surrounded by corn and bean fields.
6) Archaeologist: actually did undergrad work
7) Film Maker

This is the progression of profession (I prefer ‘calling’) that led me to my current gig. I actually wrote a letter to President Nixon trying to get into the ‘Joes’ and got a very nice photo and booklet back. But no job offer.

I’m thinking about this today as I’ve had ZERO bites on my resume. One week and no interviews. You don’t suppose employers are googling now and my blogging is hurting my chances at employment?

Oh, and for the sake of completeness, somewhere between 5 and 7 I briefly aspired to be a bodyguard for Princess Diana. I am such a nerd.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Life, Rambling, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I Was Going To Be When I Grew Up

  1. Justin V says:

    LOL.. Pretty nice List. Vampire..how’d that workout for you you..

    I’m currenly working on Number 7. (Keeping fingers cross)

    Anywho, thanks for the laugh

    Justin

  2. brianmpei says:

    Finally gave up on #1 over the whole blood thing.
    I save your comment for the day you’re doing #7 full time Justin and I can sell it on ebay.

    Can I recommend a great book to you? “Thinking In Pictures” by John Sayles.

  3. Justin V says:

    Thanks for for the recommend dude, I’ll be sure to check it out. Gotta B&N giftcard to burn anways.. Heck I’m cheap, I might just read the book there in store :).

    Oh yes, Keep the comment, I’ll be worth 1,000’s on day.

  4. Benjamin Ady says:

    Thankyou for the link to JaC. I have a progression of profession too.

    Some of them are: Fighter pilot, commerial pilot, linguist, missioanary, politician, lawyer, marine engineer, psychologist

    Benjamin

  5. brianmpei says:

    Nice list Benjamin, we’ll overlook politician and lawyer as the indiscretions of youth! 😉

  6. Shelley says:

    o.k here is my progression:
    barbie
    rockstar
    auctioneer (i have no idea where this came from)
    actress
    missionary
    barbie

  7. brianmpei says:

    Shelley, that is an impressive list. You have no idea where auctioneer came from but you do actress?

Leave a Reply

