Set a course for adventure…

sea-captain.jpg
I passed the test! Now I have an interview with the iPod support company this week. I also had a call from another on-line support company who want to meet with me on Thursday. This is entirely superficial but I do feel a little better about me as a result. The most interesting thing that happened was that I might have a chance to work on a lobster boat. Out of all the jobs that one sounds the most interesting, the most different from me.

I can see myself on the boat, facing the wind, wearing all kinds of rubber stuff, smelling like fish and using words like ‘brine’ and ‘tackle’ and ‘great white shark’ and ‘arrrr’. I can imagine the boat pounding through the waves under me as I ride it like a giant surfboard into the foamy, choppy blue in pursuit of Homarus americanus or as you landlovers call it: “lobster”. I can almost feel them, my hands against their vicious, maiming claws as I struggle to band them for the safety of others.

I’m really inclined to pursue the job on the boat (which pays incredibly well) but I have this fear. What if I get on the water and I puke my guts up the whole time?

In my heart I’m this rugged adventurer and I don’t want to risk shattering that delusion by finding out I’m a wimp on the water. Plus, the day starts at 3:30 a.m. but it wraps up around 10:30 a.m. so that would be a fantastic schedule for me but I’m not as young as I used to be. I suppose that’s obvious.

I’ll blog about the interviews later this week. If you’ve got any tips for helping me do well in the interviews, comment away, it’s been a while since I’ve done this.

(and I’ve GOT to get the answer to that one question on the logic test…)

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in job search, Life, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Set a course for adventure…

  1. deb says:

    You crack me up! To get the boat gig…..just be yourself. To get the iPod gig……..act young..er, like maybe, my age :0

  2. Apply to some jobs you know you do not want. You will always get an interview from most places that see a large number of people quitting. Go to these interviews and use them as practice to get you ready for when you are interviewed for the job you actually want. This is the best tip I can give you.

    As for the call centre, I could not wish that on anyone. Some people do not mind them, but they drive others completely crazy. Either way, the job does pay half decent for Prince Edward Island and that in the biggest thing. Everything is only as permanent as we make it out to be.

    Have you ever thought about renting out the space to show organizers for a few hundred bucks a night? When I start my company (in the process) the biggest thing I will always keep in mind is that each day has 24 hours, and if I can find ways to generate income from the majority of those hours, the bigger my company will get. Now I know you are running a Church, but surely some use could be found from such a large space in days and times when it’s not needed by the Church. Just a thought.

  3. brianmpei says:

    Thanks for the tips and ideas Andrew!

  4. Nathan says:

    Go for the lobster boat gig, prove yourself worthy to be my dad!

Leave a Reply

