My Friend Bob

bob.jpg Yesterday at 4:45 p.m. I got a phone call from a friend. She was reaching out for help. Her husband, my friend, one of my band mates, was not waking up from a nap. 911 was called and I headed to their home as quickly as I could get there. By the time I arrived the EMS workers were leaving and my friend wasn’t on the rolling bed with them. I knew that wasn’t a good thing. I stopped and talked with the last EMS tech and he told me what I already knew but didn’t want to hear.

My friend had died.

Just 48 hours before he and I were making music together with friends. We found the groove and we were working it. I remember looking over at him and thinking how cool he looked while he played a solo part on his electric. He didn’t just make music come out of that thing; he made joy come out of it. I smiled at him and he smiled at me, God was in his heavens and all was right with the world.

He was a young soul traveling around in an older model body with a bad pump. We’d talked before about ways he didn’t want to cross the curtain and other than going right in the middle of a smokin’ guitar solo, peacefully and painlessly was a choice he preferred. He was an imperfect man who radiated love perfectly. As I told another friend, a lot of us have just lost our biggest fan.

His name was Bob, and our loss is heaven’s gain.

My name is Brian, and I think death sucks. A lot.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Meaning, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Friend Bob

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your friend. How is his wife holding out? Is there anything that people can do for her?

  2. brianmpei says:

    Andrew: she’s doing good, all things considered. You can pray for her, give her a call, bake something and drop it off for her, put some money in the collection we’ll take up for her on Sunday, send her a sympathy card, stop by the wake tomorrow or funeral on Friday at Belvedere. Those are all good things. Thanks for asking!

  3. deb says:

    today life just hurts, I’ll be praying for you as well

  4. Brad says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your friends family.

  5. Shelley says:

    i think death sucks too. A lot. the world loses something that cannot ever be replaced. I hate being so far away from my family at CC in stupid Toronto.

  6. brianmpei says:

    Thanks all for your kind words and shared sorrow and sympathy.

  7. sherry says:

    Your right Brian death does suck . Sometimes life makes no sense at all .
    i have always found this saying helpful by corrie tamboom .
    No pit is so deep that his love isnt deeper still I have found comfort in knowing that one day we will be united together with our loved ones who are home to never be parted again something to look forward to when our hearts are hurting

Leave a Reply

