The Ascent

final-ascent.jpg
I haven’t been writing about it. I really can’t yet. At least nothing coherent comes out. Today I leave with my family for Ohio to be with Donna’s family as her Mom has gone through the curtain that separates here from There. It’s quite thin stuff I’m learning, this curtain, quite thin. We’ll share our grief and, God willing, our best will come out rather than our worst.

I’m a little numb from how shockingly the end comes even when you’ve been preparing for it. On the Ascent, Charlotte will be rid of everything that’s blurred her awareness and weighed down soul. She’ll sing the songs she used to sing, hear her real name spoken by the One who loves her soul and be embraced by a Love that never lets go.

Today, while I sing a different song, I’ll be feeling these lyrics from the Waterboys:

Spirit
By Mike Scott

Man gets tired
Spirit don’t
Man surrenders
Spirit won’t
Man crawls
Spirit flies
Spirit lives when man dies
Man seems
Spirit is
Man dreams
The spirit lives
Man is tethered
Spirit is free
What spirit is man can be

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Meaning, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Ascent

  1. Shelley says:

    i love you both very much and i am thinking about you a lot as you make this journey. I pray for courage, comfort, grace, and rest.

  2. I’ll keep you both in my prayers and I hope your travels are safe.

  3. Brad says:

    Safe travels for all. Praying for you. We love you very much.

  4. sweetlybroken says:

    We will all be here, for you, when you return, are hearts and prayers are travelling with you.

  5. brianmpei says:

    Thanks for your prayers, we’ve arrived safely in Cinci after an incredible drive through spring storms – snow storms. I’ll post when/if I can later on this week.

  6. Glad to hear that you guys made it safely. I’ve been tracking the storms and keeping up to date with what is going on. Nasty stuff.

  7. Hi Brian
    Just wanted to let you know that you, Donna and the kids are in our thoughts and prayers. Call on us if there is anything we can do to help. We’ll be in touch when you return.
    lots of love
    Kathie and Roger

  8. brianmpei says:

    Andrew: driving through a snow storm in the middle of April in Southern Penn was incredible and I don’t want to ever do it again! The only time it let up was when we were going through tunnels under mountains but we couldn’t stay there.

    Kathie: thanks! We’ll be back in a couple weeks, we’ll give you a call.

Leave a Reply

