Road Rant

So we’re driving from home to Cinci and we’re somewhere around road hour 30. We were finally in the buckle of the Bible belt which meant that every other station was “Christian” on the radio. I was scanning and landed (unfortunately for my family) on a radio preacher.

The preacher was doing his own rant about the ’emerging church’ which is the current whipping boy and, from what I’ve heard, you lump anyone in to it that you don’t like or who has sold more books than you. He goes off on this thing about how the ’emerging church’ guys are all about ‘the mystery’ and that the understanding God is impossible. Listening to him was like an episode of “Adventures In Missing the Point”. He was arguing about things that no one is really saying, or at least meaning the way he was reading it.

Then he pushes me over the edge that 30 hours of driving had taken me to. The Bible, he said, assumes and implicityly states that it’s easy to understand. (Ignoring what Peter said about some interpreting what Paul was writing to their own desctruction.) He is oblivious to the irony that he’s made a career as a Bible teacher. The Bible, apparently is easy to understand but he’s made a career of telling everyone what it really means. It was difficult to believe that he was not intending to mislead people with the things he was saying.

I’ll confess, I was yelling at the radio. I wasn’t cheering him on.

For the rest of this trip I’m swearing off ‘Christian radio’ rather than swearing AT ‘Christian radio’.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Road Rant

  1. Shelley says:

    Have i taught you nothing? never ever listen to radio preachers, it can only upset you and cause you to swear. The reason they are on the radio is because they aren’t good looking enough to make it on TV and also because no one can talk back to them. I’m sorry your family had to sit through that…

  2. TJ says:

    Just found your blog. Hooked!
    Shelley, right on…he’s sweating the petty things….and so on….
    Words for the movie junkie:
    Rocky Balboa: Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t how hard you hit; it’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward.
    Blessings on all….safe trip home…and Donna, I’d pull off the radio button and hide it…..
    T.

  3. brianmpei says:

    Shelley: once again I bow before your wisdom!

    TJ: Welcome! Great quote, I’ll have to see the movie now, I’ve resisted for fear of another Rocky let-down. And I’ll pass your advice on to Donna. Mostly she uses looks to end my rants, looks which carry great power.

Leave a Reply

