A Song I Writ About Meself

songwriting_photo.jpg Twice a year I like to clean out my cubicle and straighten up my workspace and find that paper I’ve been looking for that’s been on the bottom of that pile all this time. This week has been one of those times. In the process I came across these lyrics to a song I writ about me a few years ago. My theme song:

(for those with imagination: this is a guitar, accordion, violin piece. If you listen close enough you can hear all 3.)

TRAGIC
Yesterday I went to the grocery story
You can tell that I’d been there often before
The electric door did not recognize me
I think it’s a diet conspiracy

CHORUS:
I am tragic, but it’s not so bad
I am lost, but I know where I’m at
I cry when I’m happy
I laugh when I’m sad
And I only hurt the ones that I love

Is it the flu or something worse
Maybe it’s voodoo or an Egyptian curse
I went to my doctor he said I was fine
Now I’m afraid I am losing my mind

(Chorus)

I’ve lived on this Island for many a year
But I’m from away, I came from across
My daughter was born here but it’s been made quite clear
A Prince Edward Islander, I’ll never be

(Chorus)

Stopped by Tim Horton’s for a cup of caffeine
Medium double double or a large tea with cream
Rolled up my rim, to see what I’d win
It said that I owed them a buck seventeen.

I am tragic, but it’s not so bad
I am lost, but I know where I’m at
I cry when I’m happy
I laugh when I’m sad
And I only hurt the ones that I love.
I am tragic.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, Life, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Song I Writ About Meself

  1. Patty says:

    Very in the vein of Adam Sandler or Weird Al…love it!

  2. Nathan says:

    i like it, it’s depressing, but i like it!

  3. brianmpei says:

    well, it’s only depressing if you can’t hear the guitar, accordion and violin part. It’s actually a happy tune.

  4. shelleyperry says:

    i remember this one. it’s always been a favorite of mine. You should do it on sunday morning

Leave a Reply

