6 Things You May Not Know About Me

It’s Friday and I haven’t done a list yet this week. So here it is. It’s completely random. It covers info from various points of my life. I could say more about each one but I’m keeping it short.

1. When I was very small I watched an old T.V. show called, Dark Shadows. It was Goth about 30 years before Goth was cool. The main character of the gothic soap opera was a vampire named Barnabas Collins. As a result, I decided I’d very much like to be a vampire. I started carrying around a bag of dirt because vampires have to sleep by day with their native soil. I sometimes wonder if my mom used this as a way to get me to take naps during the day.

2. I used to have an earring. Left ear. I miss it. Especially when I watch a pirate movie. I’m way too big a sissy to get anything else pierced and won’t even try to get the hole in my ear to open up again for another earring.

3. I once shot an arrow from a bow in the field behind my parent’s, back toward their backyard. I miss calculated and the arrow went over the house and towards our densely populated neighbourhood. I went over all the prison movies I’d ever seen as I ran back to see where or in whom the arrow had landed. Fortunately for me it had missed everyone and everything and landed smack in the middle of the road. Yes, I believe God has a soft spot for fools and little children.

4. My first direct encounter with God moving in mysterious yet obvious ways happened when I was in grade school. I was playing “King of the Hill” on a dirt mound across the street where they were building a new house. A kid in the neighbourhood beaned me with a dirt clod when I wasn’t looking and I went berserk in the classic naked, insane warrior sense. I tore after him, determined to do serious bodily harm when SPLAT, a bird pooped on my head from 50 feet up and stopped me in my tracks. I don’t know why I attributed this to God but I did and I knew he’d just stopped me from doing something dumb. (see #3 above)

5. In grade 4 I used to twist my hair behind my left ear. I would twist so much that I had created a bald spot. My therapist thought it was nerves. It was boredom. A girl sat behind me, one of the Sopranos. She discovered my secret one day and threatened to reveal to the entire class that I had a comb over behind my left ear. I exchanged my very cool, very space age pencil sharpener for her silence. I finally stopped my extreme hair twisting and found other things to occupy my mind. The hair grew back but I never got my pencil sharpener back.

6. Once, while I was speaking at a church, a woman dropped over dead. I had either inspired her to leave early or I bored her to death. Not sure which.

Have a great weekend!

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Life, Lists, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 6 Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. TJ says:

    When you get to writing your first book, I’ll be one of the many people lining up to buy a copy…
    You’re priceless….

  2. shellie says:

    “…. inspired her to leave early” is by far the funniest line I’ve read in a long time. I’m honestly wiping the tears from laughing over here. ^_^

  3. brianmpei says:

    TJ: thanks, your copy’s free.

    Shellie: Thanks, glad I can make you laugh AND cry. I was very nervous about speaking again after that episode.

  4. Rachael says:

    oh wow, Brian that is priceless. thank you for these little windows into your life.. i’ll be right behind TJ in line for your book..

  5. sweetlybroken says:

    will you charge extra for an autographed copy? Um… I felt a little funny when I was at the Space on Wednesday so……… ya…….. maybe I’ll see you much later next week. 😉

  6. brianmpei says:

    Rachael: hmmm. where will I have this line at? and your’s will be free too.

    Sweetie: no charge for the autograph. probably. was that haha funny or weird funny?

  7. shelleyperry says:

    what do you think God was saying to you when he made the bird poop on your head?

  8. brianmpei says:

    Shelley: STOP! and other things to mysterious to write…

Leave a Reply

