Sorting Memories

We’ve made it to Cinci safely and are in the painful process of sorting the memories as we clean out Donna’s parent’s home. On Saturday we’ll have a yard sale and I can only imagine the curious looks as people buy little bits and pieces of my wife’s past and the sister take their money with tears in their eyes. Today one of the sister’s was almost overcome with guilt because she was taking two bags of used spices from the kitchen and the other two weren’t taking any. We develop a lot of strange feelings and reactions to stuff. It’s a very confusing and interesting and meaningful and painful time and I’ll be glad when Sunday comes.

Thank you all for your best wishes, prayers and for checking in. See you soon.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, Family, Life, love, Meaning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sorting Memories

  1. Heidi says:

    Praying for strength and comfort for those who need it. I pray too that the yard sale goes by very quickly and doesn’t feel long and drawn out. Peace to you all.

  2. allie says:

    Hey Guys,

    I am praying for you all during this time…
    I remember when we were sorting through the few boxes of things my grandmother owned and selling them I distinctly remember feeling quite replused as people pored over what was left of my grandma’s life. I just about lost it when they tried to barter with us over what really was a lot of sentimental junk. It was a very curious and emotional time for everyone…As my grandma owned very little of value it was even harder to sort things out between the siblings. The Christmas before my she passed away the family had bought her a lazy boy chair, and that literally was all that she owned that had any material worth. The kids decided to draw names over the chair, and they all burst into tears for the one whose name was drawn because it was a difficult gift to receive….Life can be so peculiar sometimes. Love you Donna….I pray that God’s peace is ever present for you. Glad to hear you made it safely.

  3. It’s a very surreal feeling to dismantle your childhood home. It was 14 years ago for me but I remember it distinctly. One sister and I were playing “rock scissors paper stone” to see who could “win” a photo. A lot of tears but some laughter too, as we shared memories. I’m praying that for you Donna. May you sense His comfort and peace. Looking forward to seeing you guys when you get home. xo

  4. Nancy says:

    Life is full of Hello’s and Goodbye’s. The Hello’s are sweet, the Goodbye, painful, but loving memories soften the goodbye’s. Also, there is the Promise of one more wonderful Hello. You and your family have been in my heart during this sad goodbye.

    Looking forward to spending time with you all soon.

  5. shellie says:

    I’m praying for you guys today.

  6. brianmpei says:

    Thanks all. It’s been a good but hard day for all the reasons you’ve written above. Blessings on all of you.

  7. shelleyperry says:

    miss you all. Give Donna a hug for me.

Leave a Reply

