These Cincinnati Hills

We’re back in Cinci now. We came in last night on the elusive Donna’s 43rd birthday! We went out to eat with her whole xtended family short her brother’s fam from Kansas. Good times. I still haven’t adjusted, even after 2 weeks in the U.S. to the portions here. Everything is jumbo sized to start with and you can go up from there. I think this trip has super sized me. Today we’ve cleaned more at her parent’s old place which has been green-lighted to go on the market which will hopefully lead to a quick sale.

My friend David Wolfenberger has a brilliant song that I’ll quote here one day but the chorus declares that he wants to be buried in the old family place in rural Illinois, even though he “love(s) these Cincinnati hills”. It’s an insightful metaphor that I’ve experienced on this very trip. I’ve found that the desperation I felt to get away from Illinois, the smallness I perceived, the cornfields that surrounded me, the complete lack of adventure I felt seems so inconceivable. I love the road I’ve travelled and the places I’ve been but I suspect right now that everything I’ve ever looked for was right where my road started.

So when it comes time, bury me in the good, black, Illinois soil where almost anything can grow.

We’ll be back home on the Island by week’s end and I can hardly wait to be with my friends and family there again. Regular daily blogs will resume on Tuesday!

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Family, Meaning, Rambling, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to These Cincinnati Hills

  1. Happy belated birthday to Donna! We’ll celebrate when you guys get back – we’re on holiday starting just when you get back to work…

    something’s wrong with that timing.

    oh well – an evening campfire – maybe up in the old place with the young couple.

    we’ll call

    enjoy the rest of your trip and safe home.

  2. shellie says:

    I never realized that hundreds upon hundreds of acres of corn or soy beans have a beauty all their own until I left Illinois. When the boys and I were driving back home last week, somewhere between Decatur and Champaign I told the boys to look out the windows because we could probably see three or four counties from the road there! ^_^ You can’t get that kind of view in Ohio. I didn’t appreciate that view until recently.

    I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to see you and your precious family when we were home in the Land of Corn and Lincoln. I hope it’s not two decades before we can all get together again!

    Have a safe trip back to PEI, and Happy Birthday to that young thing Donna! 🙂

  3. john says:

    Brian & Shellie – I’m so sorry I missed you both. This is the first summer that we haven’t been home in 13 years. We just didn’t want to stray too far away from little Isaac, what a blessing he is! Maybe next year…

  4. brianmpei says:

    Sparrow: sounds great all the way ’round.

    Shellie: It was great to spend time with you and the fam and catch up a bit. The afternoon slipped away without me asking you some questions i wanted to ask so it will definitely not be another 20 years, can’t possibly wait that long.

    John: you made the right choice but it would have been brilliant to have you there. When next summer gets closer we’ll have to exchange emails and try to coordinate schedules! Congrats again on your new grandson!

  5. shelleyperry says:

    Happy Birthday to Donna!!!!!!!! ….if only someone had taken her to an Aerosmith concert to celebrate….

Leave a Reply

