Dumb Things

dufus.jpg Yesterday’s post reminded me of an attempt I made to comfort someone back in my past life. I can’t place the memory exactly but if I had to guess I’d say I was in grade 9. I was sitting in the school library that had been named the Media Centre to justify the latest property tax increase. I was at a table for four with five of us gathered around it. Directly across from me was a girl I went through confirmation class with (another story all together) who was very upset about a surgery her cousin was about to have. Her cousin, who also went to our school was facing brain surgery to remove a tumor. Everyone was being very consoling when I had a mental spasm that, looking back, should have led to my own brain surgery.

“You know what?” I said, “I’m so sure that she’ll be alright that I’m willing to bet you a thousand dollars that she’ll be o.k.” I took the shocked looks and the stunned silence to mean they were all overwhelmed at my confidence and the comfort it would surely bring.

I was wrong.

“You, you want me to bet on my cousin’s life?” My friend’s eyes narrowed as her mind struggled to take in my words of consolation. “I’m betting she’ll be o.k.” I offered again, just in case she hadn’t heard me. Everyone else at the table jumped on me in a verbal dog pile and I kept trying to explain myself in a way that they would finally grasp how huge my heart was in all this. In the middle of everything that everyone else was whisper yelling (it was the Media Centre) I clearly heard the girl directly across from me, whose cousin was having this surgery say, “You…want…me…to…bet…that…she…dies. If I win, she dies?” “Well, when you say it like that…” I started and another friend leaned over to me and said, “Just shut up before you make it any worse.” Best advice, ever.

This was just one of the multitude of things I did horribly wrong in my quest to do something right. That list, unfortunately, is very long.

Today the elusive’s dad is resting as 3 doctors decide what they will and won’t offer as potential treatments. There are no happy choices. Thanks for your thoughts and prayers.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in death, Friends, Life, Rambling, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

