Impulsive

impulsetransmission.jpg I’m the guy they put all the stuff up next to the counter for at Wal-Mart. I’ve made some incredibly stupid impulse purchases over time. Here are a few:

1) A computer. I HAD to have it. Thankfully it wasn’t a Commodore 64 but still a very old Radio Shack model with a lovely blue screen. I qualified for credit, bought it and brought it home. The elusive Donna was less than impressed. It froze up on me a few times in mid-writing and within a few weeks I was very sorry that I’d brought it and it’s clacking dot matrix printer home. Eventually I sold it to a friend for a tiny fraction of what I paid for it.

2) A house. Believe it or not I once impulsively bought a house without getting the elusive Donna on-side. You would think that would have cured me once and for all but it didn’t. I did learn not to buy a house she hadn’t seen and approved of first.

3) A guitar. I didn’t know how to play and thought I’d buy a guitar and it would just somehow come to me. I messed with it for a few days. My finger tips throbbed from trying to press down on the strings and pick out the notes to “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”. When I realized it would take more pain and much more time before I was cranking out the Billy Joel or Jackson Browne tunes I sat the guitar in a corner and much later it passed on to my friend Tim.

4) Art. “What a smart investment for such a young man.” The lady at the store said. I spent about $125 too much for a frame and print that would later be appraised at $5. But it was Sir Galahad finding the Grail. I still have the Art but I think it’s actually gone down in value.

5) A dozen roses. I had a crush on a girl when I was in grade 12. She was in grade 9. She had a boyfriend who threatened to beat me up if I kept talking to her. I was pretty sure I could out run him if I needed to and truthfully I suspected that he was the kind of guy who was much more confident hitting girls than he would be hitting another guy. I walked by a florists and saw the roses. I bought them and left them for her in what I perceived was a romantic gesture. 5 minutes of conversation later I realized I was more in love with the idea of her than I was in love with her. She turned out to be very boring, very cute, but very boring.

Impulse has been both a generous friend and fierce foe. It’s led to some wonderful, happy accidents and it’s also led to pain, grief and frustration. And I’m most impulsive when I’m hungry. I do much better when I don’t let myself get bored, hungry or tired.

How about you? Pick up anything you wished you’d walked by?

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, Life, Lists, Rambling, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

