7 Movie Lines or Dialogue Exchanges I Love

194539cinema-paradiso-posters.jpg Here are some lines or dialogue exchanges that mean something to me. For every one there is a story or a place that it provokes in my soul. Some express what I feel inside, some make me laugh uncontrollably just thinking about them. For a few it’s all about context: who I first saw the movie with, where I was at, when I first happened on the film. Movies are like reference points in my soul.

In no particular order, here are some bits and pieces that mean something to me.

1. From Joe Vs. The Volcano. Patricia: “My father says that almost the whole world is asleep. Everybody you know. Everybody you see. Everybody you talk to. He says that only a few people are awake and they live in a state of constant total amazement.”

2. From It’s A Wonderful Life. Clarence: “Strange, isn’t it? Each man’s life touches so many other lives. When he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he?” I’d also use this one (but I used it yesterday): Clarence: “Remember, George: no man is a failure who has friends.”

3. From Flash Gordon. Prince Vultan: Impetuous boy! [Vultan can’t convince Flash otherwise] Prince Vultan: Oh well, who wants to live forever? Ha, ha, ha. Prince Vultan: [to the Hawkmen] DIVE!

4. From What About Bob?
Dr. Leo Marvin: Are you married?
Bob Wiley: I’m divorced.
Dr. Leo Marvin: Would you like to talk about that?
Bob Wiley: There are two types of people in this world: Those who like Neil Diamond, and those who don’t. My ex-wife loves him.
Dr. Leo Marvin: So what you’re saying is that even though you are an almost paralyzed, multiphobic personality who is in a constant state of panic, your wife did not leave you, you left her because she loves Neil Diamond.

5. From This Is Spinal Tap. David St. Hubbins: “Well, I don’t really think that the end can be assessed as of itself as being the end because what does the end feel like? It’s like saying when you try to extrapolate the end of the universe, you say, if the universe is indeed infinite, then how – what does that mean? How far is all the way, and then if it stops, what’s stopping it, and what’s behind what’s stopping it? So, what’s the end, you know, is my question to you.”

6. From Say Anything. Lloyd Dobler: “I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.”

7. From Almost Famous.
Lester Bangs: Aw, man. You made friends with them. See, friendship is the booze they feed you. They want you to get drunk on feeling like you belong.
William Miller: Well, it was fun.
Lester Bangs: They make you feel cool. And hey. I met you. You are not cool.
William Miller: I know. Even when I thought I was, I knew I wasn’t.
Lester Bangs: That’s because we’re uncool. And while women will always be a problem for us, most of the great art in the world is about that very same problem. Good-looking people don’t have any spine. Their art never lasts. They get the girls, but we’re smarter.
William Miller: I can really see that now.
Lester Bangs: Yeah, great art is about conflict and pain and guilt and longing and love disguised as sex, and sex disguised as love… and let’s face it, you got a big head start.
William Miller: I’m glad you were home.
Lester Bangs: I’m always home. I’m uncool.
William Miller: Me too!
Lester Bangs: The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we’re uncool.
William Miller: I feel better.
Lester Bangs: My advice to you. I know you think those guys are your friends. You wanna be a true friend to them? Be honest, and unmerciful.

Now you know more about me than it’s probably safe to know.

Any favourite lines you’d like to share?

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Life, Lists, Meaning, movies, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Movie Lines or Dialogue Exchanges I Love

  1. Lindsay says:

    Love the quotes!
    This is me procrastinating a bit.
    But here are a couple of my favorites:

    Castaway– Chuck: “I know what I have to do now. I have to keep breathing. Because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?”

    Ferris Bueller’s Day Off– Ferris: “I said it before, and I’ll say it again: Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

    And then there’s more…but perhaps I should continue with some work…:)

  2. TJ says:

    The Guardian:
    ….I’ve always been old, Ben. You know what though? I don’t mind. I mean, if my muscles ache it’s cause I’ve used ‘em. It’s hard for me to walk up them steps now cause I walked up ‘em every night to lay next to a man who loved me.
    I got a few wrinkles here and there, but I’ve laid under a thousand skies on sunny days.
    I look and feel this way, well, cause I drank and I smoked, I lived and I loved, danced, sang, sweat…..my way through a pretty…..good life. Gettin old ain’t bad man; getting old – that’s earned.”

  3. brianmpei says:

    Nice one TJ, I’ll have to watch that one. I’ve long thought every wrinkle, scar and white hair tells a story and I wouldn’t give them up for anything. Though I still wish my beard and my hair would choose just one colour at a time!

    Thanks for the contribution!

  4. roddy piper says:

    My personal review of a favourite movie — the lines you quote are the favourites of lots of people —

    John Cusack’s character Lloyd Dobler says ”I don’t want to buy anything, sell anything, or process anything as a career.” This high school graduate checking out a possible career in kick boxing represents the plight of all the young people spilling out of our educational systems, finding out that the search for a decent and satisfying life is akin to the medieval pursuit of the Holy Grail. He discovers that what he does best is make his girlfriend happy, and since she (Ione Skye) is intelligent and lovely inside and out, as well as being morally courageous, this task is what he decides to devote his life to. (I say, “Good choice!”)
    Society however, represented in the form of his girlfriend’s father, is not impressed with Lloyd Dobler, and the film is the contest of father and Dobler for Skye. While the father is somewhat the villain of the piece, he is 3-dimensional. He loves his daughter, and as a single parent has devoted himself to her, has built up trust whereby she can totally relax in his presence and say anything to him, confident he will give honest reactions and advice. In contrast Cusack starts out on the nervous road of dating his dream girl by desperately trying to fill the silences that arise, his method being to say anything that comes into his head. To be honest he does not really have to say anything, but see this great film to find out if he succeeds.
    Great cast and script, this film and Some Kind of Wonderful, I think are the very best teenage coming-of-age comedies, hands down.

  5. brianmpei says:

    Nice Roddy, thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

