An Unintentional Silence

unintended.jpg The Elusive Donna and I just got back from 4 days of R&R. A time to rest, recharge and rekindle (and apparently be infected with an alliteration bug…). We snuck over the border and, thanks to a generous gift from friends, shacked up for 3 nights in a motel. Donna had some ‘shop therapy’, I got some serious nap time and did some reading. I took my laptop and intended to be on-line to keep my blog posts up but my computer and the motel network hub couldn’t agree on a few things so I didn’t get to do any posting.

The things I miss about living in the States are mostly people and not things. I am amazed that a blanket at the Walmart in Bangor, Maine sells for $30 less than it does in Canada. I can only imagine that for some reason we’ve put a high tariff on electric blanket imports. I also can’t believe, and I’ve mentioned this before, the portion sizes at restaurants in the States. I suppose if you only eat once a day it’s not too bad but a lot of food gets thrown out from what I’ve seen.

I came back with a lot of things I want to write about and I’m painfully aware that we’re getting close to my last month to do anything about it. I suspect that December will be a month of double or even triple posts as I try to get this project to a place I’m satisfied with before the end of 2007. While I was away another book arrived for me to read and review on here. It looks like an interesting book but I’ll tell you more about it later next week.

O.K., I’ve tried to not make this blog a “got up today, had breakfast, read half of the paper and then walked to the mailbox…” kind of blog. I thought I should put something up to explain my silence here at C.V. over what are normally posting days. I started a story about being abducted by those alien ships that are all over youtube but it seemed a little to early ‘80s so I decided to go with the plain truth.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the break, regular irregular posts resume tomorrow (Friday).

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, Life, love, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Unintentional Silence

  1. BrianD says:

    You know Brian, if it takes you late into ’08 to get all of the things into the blog that you wanted to write about, that’s okay by all of us readers.

    Glad you had some time to get away. I am sure the Elusive had a great time shopping. It’s good to see you back home. I hope you are both refreshed for what is sure to be a busy December.

  2. brianmpei says:

    thanks Brian. thanks for reading and the encouragement. Donna would kill me if I kept this up through ’08 but I’ll certainly write something, sometime, somewhere.

    I keep waiting for you to announce your blog!

  3. shelleyperry says:

    don’t get me started about the price differences! grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    But glad to hear you and the Elusive had some R & R…why is it that shopping feels like rest to us women?…or at least it does to me.

  4. brianmpei says:

    good question Shell, and why did my 8th nap finally start to drive Donna crazy?

Leave a Reply

