I Am Not The Anti-Claus

not-the-anticlaus.jpg But Christmas music before December 1st??? Madness!! There should be laws that restrict the broadcast of Christmas music and specials to the month of December. And stores that play Christmas music over their speakers should be forced to give you a 75% discount if the music is playing before or after December. There really can be too much of a good thing and Christmas music is a perfect illustration of the proverb.

My wife would disagree with me on this one. I think I caught her trying to super glue the XMradio buttons so that we’ll only get the Christmas music channel. But let me crank up Madonna singing, “Santa Baby” and she’ll run faster than the speed of a thought to shut the song off. Can I just say that to me, all Christmas music sounds like Madonna warbling her slutiest (msword tells me that’s not a word but it clearly is) to the fat man in red. At least until December 1st. Then something happens and everything changes for me.

My friend George stopped by today for a cup of hot chocolate and he volunteered to pick the place up for me while I heated his water. He collected an empty pop bottle from me to take back for the deposit and on the way back from picking out a couple grocery items from the cupboard he joined me singing an impromptu duet of ‘Silver Bells’. He almost got me to change my mind on the matter.

Between sips of hot chocolate I convinced him to sign up for our upcoming ‘contact directory’ for the folks the like to meet up together here at Community. He put his name and phone number down. He noted next to “Children” that he had NONE and that was it. I asked him if he had an email address. He scoffed, said, “No.” Then he added, “I’m not, um, oh, whadda ya call it?”
“On line?”, I tried to fill the blank.
“That’s it! On line. I’m not on line. You can’t down load me!” he said.

I can handle Christmas decorations, lights and even early Christmas parties but keep the music in December. Please! I’m begging. And if you have any contacts that can’t help in any way, please don’t let Madonna record anymore Christmas music.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in christmas, Confession, Life, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Am Not The Anti-Claus

  1. shelleyperry says:

    I used to fight this fight. But it’s no use. I have pushed the date back to Nov. 12th. That is the absolute earliest I will support any Christmas season activities or music.

    Kristi already has her Christmas tree up.

  2. BrianD says:

    I wouldn’t mind certain more spiritual Christmas songs being played even year round, but what frosts my watoosi is when you can’t get in the stores in October because they are beginning to cram in items for Christmas. At least with the music, you can get the Christmas message. You don’t get that at the store.

    I do agree about Madonna, though. In fact, I can’t really think of any celebrity who has released a Christmas CD I like.

  3. brianmpei says:

    I like my tree up on the 24th and down on the 26th. The elusive Donna has always won that argument but never ever tried to get one up before December. I married a wonderful woman!

    I can think of a coupls songs I agree with you on BrianD, but Christmas carols are murder to play on guitar…

  4. Barb says:

    ah Brian my favorite time of year. Jeffs to. We have our Christmas tree up along with all the decorations which you were so fortunate to see last year. I am a lot like Donna I love Christmas music.

  5. brianmpei says:

    I remember listening to you, the Elusive, your mom and your oldest sister singing, “O Holy Night” in the kitchen together while you either made a meal or cleaned up from one together. That was a loooong time ago, but a good memory.

  6. Lindsay says:

    November 30th. 6:30 am. Frosty the Snowman blasting from the radio…KILLER (in a negative sort of way)!

  7. brianmpei says:

    Only Rudolph with his nose (excepting the Jack Johnson version) fills me with more fear than Frosty…

Leave a Reply

