Comfort

sr_abegg_arran_blanket.jpg Here’s my list for the week. I’m in over my head getting my new laptop up and running. Tons to transfer and the potential for losing something I can’t do without is pretty great at the moment. It’s worse than moving house; easier on the back but harder on the head.

My list for this week are comfort songs. These are on my permanent rotation for songs that soothe me. The list could be pretty long and I could list artists/bands instead but I’ll just stick with these for now. It’s not a list based on favourites or best or anything, it’s just a list of the few songs that can carry me along a day like an innertube out on the creek.

An even dozen in no particular order:

1. Babylon by David Grey
2. Clocks by Coldplay
3. Vienna by Billy Joel
4. Fire & Rain by James Taylor
5. Walking in Memphis by Marc Cohn
6. Crash Into Me by Dave Matthews Band
7. Bury Me At Ivesdale by David Wolfenberger
8. Send Me On My Way by Rusted Root
9. Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone by Van Morrison
10. Comfortable by John Mayer
11. Grace by U2
12. Traffic In The Sky by Jack Johnson

What’s one of your comfort songs?

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Life, Lists, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Comfort

  1. BrianD says:

    1) Cast Down Your Cares by John Michael Talbot
    2) Give You Heart a Home by Don Francisco
    3) He’s Alive by Don Francisco
    4) Worthy the Lamb That was Saved by the Gaithers
    5) Grace on Grace by Don Francisco

    There are several that mean a lot to me, but I really can’t think of the names right now. This is at least a good start for me, and yes, Don Francisco is probably my favorite artist.

  2. brianmpei says:

    #3- He’s Alive. Nice one.

  3. 1. “Comfortable” makes my list too (along with “Not Myself”, “Wheel” and “Heart of Life” by John Mayer as well) also…
    2.The Scientist –Coldplay (oh, and “fix you” too)
    3. Bad Timing–Blue Rodeo
    4. Don’t Come Easy–Patty Griffin
    5. Both Sides Now–Joni Mitchell
    6. Snow Day–Lisa Loeb (or “Stay”)
    7. Slow Motion–David Gray (and “Disappearing World”)
    8 Fields of Gold–Eva Cassidy version
    9 With or Without You–U2
    10. Wrong Turn–Jack Johnson….

    erg…i guess i have more than a few…

  4. shellie says:

    Maybe it’s because I spend all day with a couple rowdy boys, but when I want “soothing” or “comfort,” I want quiet… so I turn the music off. But I guess I do like to turn on some non-lyric orchestra/symphony stuff in the background, or something in a foreign language that I don’t have to listen to the actual words, just enjoy the sounds, like Andrea Bocceli or Enya. (Yah, I know she’s speaking English, but it’s just dreamy English. 🙂 )

    I usually turn music on for some cheer, and lately that means a little ELO “Mr. Blue Sky”. You can’t be down when you listen to that one. Steven Curtis Chapman always puts me in a good mood too. I’m sure as soon as I hit “submit” I’ll think of 10 songs I could have listed but can’t come up with right now. (Sorry… I don’t think my puny list was quite what you were looking for here! I’ll try to do better on your next post! ^_^)

  5. brianmpei says:

    Shellie – your list was perfect. And it’s forced me to confess I’m a clost Enya listener myself. If I would have kept going she would’ve been on my list like she’s on my iTunes. I used to listen to Steven C Champman until my friend Darwin played a song of SCC’s for me that he thought went with the 45 minute talk I’d just given. He was right, it did and SCC said in 3:58 what it took me 3/4 of an hour to say. I don’t listen to him any more…

    TJ – The band or the man? I’ve loved almost ever collaboration that Carlos has done in the last few years including the new one with the guy from Nickleback who I can’t normally stand.

  6. TJ says:

    The man and his guitar.

  7. Ok – where is the ChuckyDanger?

    But I like the idea of songs being for comfort – I thought you were going to list food.

    But food and new laptops might not go together so well.

  8. brianmpei says:

    Indeed. There are two Chucky songs on my comfort rotation ‘sparrow, I knew I should have extended the list to 25… 😉

  9. sweetlybroken says:

    1.Sanctuary-I had it loaded for the trip from your friends house to the IWK last year, Elusive sang along with it, moved me beyond belief
    2.Ave Maria
    3.Bullet proof-Blue Rodeo
    4.Above all else
    5.Grace like rain-Todd Agnew
    6.Amazing love-Bebo Norman
    7.cello music

  10. brianmpei says:

    nice list Sweetly. Ave Maria intrigues me as one of your choices.

  11. sweetlybroken says:

    well, I am an intriguing person 😉

Leave a Reply

