Take My Vista, please.

vista-first-startupbig.jpg Today I’m juggling a few things and won’t get to do a decent post. I’ve been trying to get Windows Vista to work. It appears that it is determined that I will buy all new microsoft programs or it just won’t play with me. I’m on day 3 of installing software and trying to make it work like it used to work on my dying laptop. Part of my problem is knowing just enough about computers to make a mess with confidence and not enough about computers to clean it all up. I think I’ve approached life like that more often than I’d like to admit.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in blogging, Confession, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take My Vista, please.

  1. Yves says:

    Vista doesn’t play well with anyone…. unless you have at least 2 Gigs of RAM.

    If Vista was an animal, it would be roadkill….. but I’ve heard that it’s first service pack does increase it’s performance. By a bit.

    I bought a Mac.

    You could probably run something like Ubuntu without to much trouble.

    Ubuntu = free. And it runs very well.

    Just doesn’t support Windows programs.

    Peace dude!

  2. TJ says:

    Oh dear…Vista….did you lose a bet or something?

  3. BrianD says:

    I’m having an XP crisis right now. I had one of those forced updates that didn’t work quite right and now my computer won’t boot. I am considering a MAC, and I never thought I would ever think about switching to “Brand X”.

  4. brianmpei says:

    My previous, XP filled computer has decided to die TJ so I bought a new one and all they had were Vista loaded. Monsters!

    BrianD, I’d go MAC if I had the money. Go for it.

  5. shelleyperry says:

    Ubuntu? that’s an African word. Interesting. It’s a concept that speaks of living in harmony and community with those around you–And this is a computer program? Ironic considering Brian’s (and so many others) situation. I sympathize. Computer problems make me want to crawl in a hole.

Leave a Reply

