Me and Tom

cruise180507_468x499.jpg I’ve posted about this before but I’ll say it all one more time. Anyone who believes in Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Mormonism, or any other ‘ism’ you want to pick, Islam, the J.W.’s and so on, is certifiable. I don’t know how to be more plane speaking than that. Tom (Captain Planet) Cruise is right in there with the rest of us with his Scientology-speak riddled rants that’ve made the internet rounds and t.v. show circuit as of late. Nuts, crazy, coockoo, the elevator doesn’t go all the way to the top, the lights are on but no one is home, a couple bricks short of… you know. We’re all insane, not just misguided, unless there’s truth to the reality we claim to believe in. (You can search CV is you want to see what I’ve written on that before.)

I’m sick (to the point of vomitting in public) of hearing people say that someone’s religious beliefs should not affect how we look at them and the work they do. Tom’s publicist and friend said, “I feel strongly that an individual’s religion should have no bearing on their professional life.” And that pretty well sums up the utter shallowness of our western world.

When I board a plane, I have a strong feeling that I would prefer a pilot who does not think he or she can manipulate matter or control the time/space continuum. Perhaps I’m wrong to consider this an issue but I definitely think that a person’s “individual religion” greatly affects their professional life. In fact, that’s what I love about Tom. He does too. He would disagree with me about which one of us was sane but that’s o.k. with me. It’s just incredibly refreshing to see someone take seriously and live out to it’s nuttiest fringes the things they say they believe. I think we mostly all want to be nice. “Live and let live” is the motto we want on our collective license plates rather than New Hampshire’s insanely provocative “Live Free or Die”.

Faith in something (God, gods, a higher power, whatever your choice is) has inspired terrible things but beautiful things as well. Couldn’t we say the same about love in general? That’s where Lennon’s “Imagine” missed the mark. We can blame religion or politics but you better look at the stats on people who’ve said, “I love you” to each other shortly before doing something horrible to that same person. The issue, I think, is how much we let the things we say we believe affect our lives. Radical Islam takes it to violent extremes and the world begs to see another side of Islam that chooses to be just as radical but in peace making and loving infidels rather than blowing them up. The world is dying for radical Christians who won’t demonstrate their allegiance to God by blowing up abortion clinics in the most twisted pro-life madness imaginable. Christians who’ll show how radical their allegiance is by taking the homeless to their place for meals and asking why America and Canada still have children who go to bed hungry within their borders.

I’m ranting, I know, sometimes it just feels like it’s me and Tom out here.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in God, Life, love, Meaning, Rant, tom cruise, What if...?. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Me and Tom

  1. are you becoming a scientologist?

  2. if its just you and Tom…who is batman and who is Robin?

  3. please don’t vomit in public.

  4. brianmpei says:

    Shelley…
    1) Not today
    2) I’m ALWAYS Batman, always
    3) I’ll do my best

  5. Brad says:

    Well I’ve been wearing foil on my head for years and I don’t care who knows it!

Leave a Reply

