A Not Book Review

starfish002.jpg I’m reading a book right now that’s brilliant. I know it’s brilliant because it agrees with me! 😉
It’s a book on leadership and organization. I’ve got a weird thing for books on that topic and I’m dying to tell you about this one. But I won’t. At least not until I finish the entire book and then I’ll do a proper review.

Here’s how the book, published in 2006, fell into my hands. The Elusive Donna and I were over at some friend’s for a meal and a visit. While they were busy cooking I was snooping through their bookshelves (one of my addictive behaviours). I saw the spine of the book, the title and felt an instant rush, I knew it was a book I had to check out. I picked it up, checked out the cover, inside and out, flaps and blurbs, table of contents and I thought, “I’ve got to ask if I can borrow this book…” I put it back on the shelf and joined everyone for a great meal and good conversation.

During ‘brunch’ I was so into the stories I was hearing that I forgot the book completely and didn’t think of it again until I was home. I made a mental ‘post-it’ to email my friend and ask to borrow the book. (Yes, these clutter my brain exactly as you imagine they do.) The next day I was in the office I fired up the computer, checked email and heard, “you’ve got 16 mails”. At the top of the list was an email from my friend telling me about this book he spotted on his bookshelf and wondered “if you might like to borrow it some time.”

I responded immediately, told him I’d just been eyeing the book when we were over and in a couple days it was hand delivered, along with a book on Harley’s that has led me to covetousness, and I’ve been enjoying it immensely.

So far it’s expressing everything I’ve come to believe about leadership and often thought of writing about because no one else seemed ever to have. And here it is. Usually when I come across a book that I know that I should’ve written I get frustrated or depressed. Right now I’m just feeling joyful. The truth is it’s the first time in a long time that I don’t feel like I must be completely crazy to think the way I do about leadership. Even if the authors of this book are wrong at least I’m not alone. There’s something powerfully therapeutic in discovering you’re not alone.

I was in a small group the other night that is like food and water for my soul and at the end of 90 minutes of people sharing their stuff with each other we all agreed that we were pleasantly surprised to hear our own thoughts and experiences coming out of someone else’s mouth telling their own stories and their own thoughts that, until that 90 minutes was up, they had thought were theirs and theirs alone. It’s liberating, healing, hope-filled.

In a while I’ll tell you the title of the book, who wrote it and the details but for now I’ll just leave you with this not book review and the simple truth that finding out you aren’t as original as you thought you were is sometimes a very happy thing.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in book review, Books, Friends, Leadership, Reflective, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Not Book Review

  1. BrianD says:

    Looking forward to hearing the book title and reading the review.

  2. shellie says:

    Hurry up and finish that book, wouldja??

    🙂

  3. brianmpei says:

    Sorry Shell, not enough fiber in my diet lately…

  4. shellie says:

    I’ll send you a box of Bran Flakes. 😉

    I’m not the most patient of people, and you give us these tantalizing teasers about good stuff you’re GONNA tell us about … sometime…. later … when you get around to it! So mean!! 😉

  5. BrianD says:

    Better make that a case of Bran Flakes, Shellie.

Leave a Reply

