The Road


I was standing in the road at the end of my driveway yesterday and I was thinking. Not to get all Zen or anything but I became conscious of the reality that the pavement I stood on runs as an unbroken road from my house to my parent’s home where I grew up. More than just a means of facilitating transportation, this asphalt represents a connection that is as real as I want it to be. A web that criss-crosses the continent I live on. It got me started thinking again about how close we all really are and the hobbit’s song about the road going ever on and on, there and back again. In the split second all of this buzzed through my mind I thought again of the dream I’ve had for a while of getting a friend and getting two motorcycles and driving them from here on the Island together all the way down to Trinidad and Tobago by way of Venezuela. Now that would be a road trip.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Friends, Life, Reflective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Road

  1. Brad says:

    OK, don’t tell mom your dreaming of getting a motorcycle, and REALLY don’t tell her if your thinking about a tatoo to go with it!

  2. brianmpei says:

    I would never say the word ‘motorcycle’ around our mom.

  3. shellie says:

    I read your post a few days ago and have been humming “The road goes ever on and on…” ever since. 🙂

    I needed to read your post, because lately I have been feeling quite the opposite… a feeling of “you can’t get there from here.” And I think my “there” is the same as yours, just a different door down the road in the same town. 🙂 I have not been dreaming of driving to my mom’s via motorcycle (and I don’t think she’d like the idea any better than you mom would!), but it feels sometimes like I couldn’t even get there by car or plane or any other means … too many obstacles, too many distractions, not enough time. I think I need to walk to the end of my driveway and start humming a hobbit’s song for inspiration.

  4. brianmpei says:

    Shellie, you’re sounding like a Baggins for sure! (I’m such a nerd!) There’s really only one thing that’s necessary….

Leave a Reply

