An Excellent Read

Here’s one shade of my nerdiness: I love reading books on leadership and business. I don’t believe or take seriously everything I read in them but I usually find them insightful and thought-provoking.

I’ve just finished a new book called, “Executive Stamina”. Aside from what Freud would make of the title, this is one of the very best books I’ve found for anyone interested in getting a grip on their life.

There is a lot to love about this book. First, it’s written well, engaging, clear and very mindful of the sort of people who would likely pick it up.

Second, it’s incredibly practical. I can’t begin to list the books I’ve started and then tossed aside. I tossed some of them because they were written for such a narrow audience that only two management guys in Cleveland in the second half of 2004 could connect with them. Others were tossed because they offered grand notions with absolutely no practical application or steps on how to get from here to there. Executive Stamina will take you from here to there and not leave you feeling like you’ve been talked down to or the goal is too far out of your reach.

Third, it’s written in bite size chunks for people who can’t lose even more time by getting involved in long explanations and formulas. There are great, real life stories here, the kind that you can easily identify with. But none of the stories are long and none of the stories turn out to be more about the author than about the point he’s making. (If you’ve read many leadership books you know exactly what I mean.)

In almost every chapter there are some simple, clear, practical applications or tools for putting into practice what you’ve just read. There are also charts for everything from exercise and nutrition to time management and priority setting.

The book includes talk about “drift” and “shift” that for me created some clarity on some failure to make lasting change in my own day to day that I’ve struggled with. Anyone from a mom who is managing a household to a small business owner to a corporate manager would get a lot of great tips from this book on making life better.

The negatives for me: the cover of the book. If I saw this in the bookstore I would not be drawn to the book based on what I see. Crack it open though, read a few pages and I think you’ll be hooked by the common sense stuff you read that you can easily identify with and the real help or insight that seems to come on almost every page.

The other negative is that I’ll be spending more time reading this again and again to get everything out of it that I need and want to get plugged in to my life. It’s published by Wiley and it’s called Executive Stamina by Seldman & Seldman. And no, this isn’t a paid endorsement.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in book review, Books, Family, Leadership, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Excellent Read

  1. Yves says:

    That looks like an awesome read Brian!

    And I agree on the cover… it’s kind of bland…. maybe they designed it like that to “Optimize time, energy and productivity”…

    😉

    Peace dude!

  2. Michelle Ross-Hixson says:

    Have you read the book Good to Great?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_to_Great

    It’s an amazing book on leadership 🙂

  3. brianmpei says:

    Hey Michelle! Nope, haven’t read it, but I’ll go looking for it!

Leave a Reply

