O Canada

We’re home now. Back from holidays. We’re not “technically” home but we’re “officially” home. Basically that means we crossed the border last night and I picked up Tim Hortons donuts and coffee for the family breakfast.

It felt great to cross the border last night. I always breathe easier on this side of the border. I’m not sure why. Probably a fear that they’ll finally figure me out and stop letting me back across the border. It’s almost time for us to renew our immigrant status but we can follow the same process and get our citizenship instead. I think we’ll take the opportunity.

We had a great time with our family on holidays. Pictures will be posted soon. Family and friends are what I miss most about the U.S. – pretty much the only things I miss. We spent a week in a U.S. “vacation destination” where traffic was bumper to bumper and the frenetic activity level wore me out just watching people trying to relax. I don’t miss that pace of life. I do miss sitting outside chatting with my dad and mom, breaking bread together, sharing stories, making a few more memories, beating my children at tennis at my advanced age (even if they beat me more often as long as I win the last match I’m the champion – right?) and seeing my brother’s 8 month old son – my nephew – Lu.

But it’s good to be back in the Great White North today where the expression “double double” has significance, people peacefully gained their independence from the U.K. and the beaver is still considered a noble creature. If I can just convince my family and the Elusive’s family to move up here it will be complete.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Reflective and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O Canada

  1. Tennis champion eh?

    How are you at pool?

  2. brianmpei says:

    The Elusive Donna is the pool shark Sparrow but we’d love to set a round with you and the Fisherman.

  3. drew says:

    welcome back B-rock! I guess you need some sort of gangster name since you’ve spent so much time in the South. Keep August 29th free!

  4. brianmpei says:

    I’ll keep it free. Searched in vain for a wet suit though. Could’ve picked up a new board for $600 though…

Leave a Reply

