Coming Soon To A Conference Near You…

Well, here the latest and I wish it was a joke. I’m turning in my charismatic badge and having the secret handshake erased from my memory if this keeps up. This is John Crowder and he’s the current flavour of the month. He’ll be appearing soon with Heidi Baker at a conference near you!


Thoughts?

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Coming Soon To A Conference Near You…

  1. Tim Kantel says:

    Hi Brian. We don’t know each other but know many of the same people. I’m not completely clear on one thing…what’s the connection (if any) that you’re drawing between Heidi Baker and John Crowder? Thanks!

  2. brianmpei says:

    Hi Tim,

    The connection is that John and Heidi are sharing the platform at “Miracles, Signs & Wonders – The Great Glory Invasion 2 Sept. 24-27 @ Life Center, Harrisburg, PA. Featuring:
    Heidi Baker, John Crowder, Charles Stock, Jeff Jansen, Georgian & Winnie Banov & Benjamin Dunn.

    I think your parents are amazing Tim!

  3. brianmpei says:

    Here’s the address to the site, if it works…
    http://www.thenewmystics.org/Itinerary.html

  4. Tim Kantel says:

    Thanks Brian. I think they’re cool too.

    I’m not sure if you did this intentionally but the sub-text of your post for me at least touches on the issue of the good and bad of the Christian Conference scene.

    For instance what you have happening often at these conferences is people with different callings, different messages, and very different MO’s sharing the same platform because they somehow appeal to a specific segment of the church.

    Do you think for instance that perhaps the work that Heidi (and Iris as a whole) does is negatively impacted in any way when she appears on the stage with someone like Crowder?

  5. brianmpei says:

    Hi Tim. Yes, I do. It might not financially, depending on her donor base, but on a purely spiritual level that will eventually produce fruit in other areas, yes. Unless she stands up and distances herself from the horrific false teaching and destructive and misleading behavior of Crowder (and others on the list) then I think that it does have a negative impact. Can you imagine the apostle Paul sharing a stage with Crowder or John who has such strong language and directives about false teachers in his epistles?

    By and large though there seems to be such a large segment of the Church that’s taken with this hot pursuit of ecstatic experiences, jewels, angel feathers, etc. that there will always be a crowd.

    How about you? Do you think that it matters?

  6. Tim Kantel says:

    Hi Brian. Spiritually speaking–I’m honestly just not sure of the negative impact when it comes right down to it and I think that’s because I’m also somewhat familiar with the ministry and know that while nowhere near perfect (they’ve hit lots of valleys along the way), things run on a high level of integrity and quality. Perception-wise, I do agree with you that it associates what I believe to be a quality ministry with something that at least raises some questions…heck you noticed it right. I’m sure you’re not the only one.

    A question for me is what do we do with this? You’re raising good questions and engaging in intelligent discussion. There are others though (see heresy hunters) that will take this as further ammunition to disparage a quality person and ministry.

    I’m going to do some more digging on this though as I’m wondering how for instance she chooses where to speak and whether she considers who else is speaking for instance? Does she consider the impact that controversial characters like Crowder can have or is she not concerned about perception?

    Thanks Brian for indulging me on this. Hopefully we’ll cross paths in person some day.

  7. brianmpei says:

    Hi Tim, I appreciate what you’re saying and I appreciate your thoughtfulness about it.

    I should have said that my perception is that there are two separate issues here. One is the Roland and Heidi who run the work in Pemba. I’ve quoted that Roland and Heidi, read update letters from them to our church and been an admirer of the incredible work they do.

    The other is the Roland and Heidi who regularly speak at TACF and on TACF cruises and at conferences on things far removed from orphans and who are part of Peter Wagner’s international coalition of apostles.

    I don’t think the orphanage and that expression of Iris will be harmed for what it is and what it does.

    I do think that it will create relational rifts if they are stuck with a crowd who is bound to insist the emperor’s new robes really are beautiful.

    Your questions are good ones and I don’t have all the answers. Mostly I know what freaks me out and John Crowder really does.

    I’d love to meet up with you somewhen and somewhere.

  8. Greg MacKinnon says:

    I don’t know whether to be ashamed or enraged. This guy reminds me of some drugged out pseudo-guru from the 60’s and 70’s spouting drivel and nonsense as fast as he can speak. In those days the deceived were also drugged and had an excuse for our folly and lack of discernment. What really astounds me is that people who are supposedly intelligent and “spiritually aware” are giving him a stage. Instant weight loss, instant money, and instant virtue – the generation that loves to have their ears tickled have found a new friend. Hopefully he won’t last much longer that Todd. I am leaning further toward the theory that many (most?) christians are so bored with inconsequential lives that they are jumping on any bandwagon that promises some excitement no matter how ridiculous so long as there are a few Scriptures thrown in to the mix. It seems that the deception of the elect is becoming so easy that it is now routine.

  9. brianmpei says:

    Greg I agree with you that boredom is at the root of a lot of this nonsense, boredom and an unwillingness to take the more difficult and less ‘instant’ road of discipleship. Being good is NOT being a disciple. Kicking at the darkness ’til it bleeds daylight, to quote St. Bruce of the Cockburn, in the little and the big, for as long as it takes – that’s discipleship.

    I fear for those who share the platform with the oing, oing, oingers.

  10. Michelle Hixson says:

    Perhaps the problem could be looking at too much of the fake and not enough of the genuine? For truly, there are loads of horrifically bad examples of men & women working in self, and promoting a gospel other than that of Christ? No wonder you are full of questions Brian.. I’m getting more and more depressed the more I read here 🙂 Phil 4: 8-9 “Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.”

    Are there some good examples out there? There HAS to be the genuine for the enemy to work so hard at providing shallow equivalents.

    Been reading much by Donald Miller & Rick McKinley – ever run into those two blokes? They provide an insight & humor into today’s church that i find refreshing.. and encouraging.. not horrific and sad.

    Perhaps the line is being drawn too thick between the “charismatics” and the rest of the church? For truly you guys are an extension of the body – an arm, a leg, a very cool dance move – not lone rangers out there all by yourselves. You need us and we need you truly…perhaps looking over the whole body here, not just a portion or a single cell might prove more beneficial ? Or maybe I’m missing the point entirely.

  11. brianmpei says:

    Hi Michelle, no, I don’t think you’re missing the point at all. And I’m off right now at a week that’s putting me back in touch with the “radical middle”.

    I’m a big Donald Miller fan. If you haven’t read his blog I’d recommend you stop by. It can be almost as depressing at mine some times – especially the comments to his posts – but painfully funny as well.

    His email exchange with Barak Obama is worth the trip to his blog all by itself.

  12. Michelle Hixson says:

    yep Donald Miller is on my Google Reader (I love that tool). He’s a pretty funny guy, and one day in Heaven I’m going to enjoy hearing his jokes in person. “Radical Middle” huh? We are people of the pendulum for sure. I swing hard in one direction or another but tend to find Jesus somewhere else entirely. Funny how that goes!

Leave a Reply

