What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 1

Found this at another blog, thought I’d play with it over here. I know this isn’t how you’re supposed to play with these things but I couldn’t just bold them without including a story or two…

01. Bought everyone in the bar a drink
02. Swam with wild dolphins
03. Climbed a mountain
04. Taken a Ferrari for a test drive
05. Been inside the Great Pyramid
06. Held a tarantula
It was someone’s pet tarantula. Very cool. I’m a HUGE sissy when it comes to spiders. Just today I was doing some work out in the yard, clearing a tree that Kyle blew down for us, and I put my head right into a spider web. A big one. Well, there really are no small ones but this web was huge. I backed out of it and spent a few minutes trying not to panic or freak out completely. Brushed something out of my hair that felt big, soft and 8 legged. Hyper-ventilated and eventually stopped crying. The tarantula didn’t really freak me out because it was so big. Will dream tonight of thousands of spiders under my covers…
07. Taken a candlelit bath with someone
Um, my wife, and that’s all I’m saying ‘cause I’d like it to happen again…
08. Said “I love you” and meant it
Many, many times. I used to think that frequency would diminish its’ potency but turns out I can’t hear it enough so I’m guessing I can’t say it, and mean it, enough.
09. Hugged a tree
Misspent youth. That’s all I’m saying besides, “Allerton”.
10. Bungee jumped
11. Visited Paris
12. Watched a lightning storm at sea
13. Stayed up all night long and saw the sun rise
Not just to see the sunrise but it was there the same time I was.
14. Seen the Northern Lights
Very cool. Long, late night drive across Quebec, west to east, with the Northern Lights dancing outside my driver’s side window. Hard to keep my eyes on the road.
15. Gone to a huge sports game (and survived the crush afterwards)
A few times. I am NOT a huge fan of crowds, particularly close, crushing crowds. Cannot stand Christmas shopping in the mall for this very reason.
16. Walked the stairs to the top of the Leaning Tower of Pisa
17. Grown and eaten your own vegetables
Yep. Only real disaster were the turnips who had huge tops, could wait for the harvest time to pull these monsters from the ground. When the day finally came I discovered they were all 8 inches across and 1 inch deep. Tough to eat them.
18. Touched an iceberg
Depends how you define iceberg. But I’m counting it. Spring on P.E.I. gives you a lot of opportunities but being in Newfoundland one Spring did too.
19. Slept under the stars
Lots. Best was in the Black Hills of South Dakota with a few friends. Listening to the coyotes crying in the woods around us while I fell asleep looking up at the stars will always be one of my favourite memories.
20. Changed a baby’s diaper
Lots and lots.
21. Taken a trip in a hot air balloon
22. Watched a meteor shower
Once. Didn’t get hit by a chunk that gave me incredible super powers. Found out that no one else did either. Stopped watching meteor showers…
23. Gotten drunk on champagne
24. Given more than you can afford to charity
Often. What’s the point of giving what you can afford?
25. Looked up at the night sky through a telescope
Yep. Remember the first time. We lived on Stanford street and my parent’s had a friend who stopped by who had one in his car. Weird. We looked at the moon through it, could see actual ‘features’ on the moon’s surface and I remember thinking how cool that was.
26. Had an uncontrollable giggling fit at the worst possible moment
Burger King. A large group of us, 8 or so, crowded around one of those corner tables where the inside person can only get out if half of the whole group gets up. The inside person was a graduating senior at our Bible College and we were all coming home from a missions trip. She was an extremely ‘holy’ person and the whole week on the road with her had been a painful experience. I was pretty sure she was hiding a stick somewhere, if you get my meaning… She started to say “grace” before our BK meal and something happened, not sure what, someone cut a little fart or maybe it was just how earnestly she was thanking Jesus for our BK, whatever it was started me giggling – silently, but violently. Then it spread. By then end of saying “grace” she was apologizing to God for all the rest of us and asking him to forgive our sorry souls. Finally I howled with laughter and she never spoke to me again. And I was cool with that.

…to be continued…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in bible college, blogging, Confession, Life, Lists, Rambling, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 1

  1. BrianD says:

    4. Actually, it was a Mazeratti, but it is close enough for me.
    8. Often
    13. It’s always nice to stay up all night.
    15. Huge sports game.
    17. You hasn’t
    20. As recently as yesterday.
    22. They missed me, too. Saw the Perseid meteor shower that produced a very high number of them one year.
    24. no comment needed
    25. Just got rid of the telescope a couple of years ago. Would like to get another one that is of higher quality. Was interested as a kid due to the space program.
    26. Numerous times sitting in Sunday School class. Either Bob, Jim, and I would lose it, then all of us would follow.

  2. sweetlybroken says:

    1. all 3 of us
    7. at least once
    8. that one never gets old
    9. actually I was measuring it’s girth, seriously
    13. some times on purpose
    14. at Hay River N.W.T beautiful
    15. go Sens go
    17. who knew a cabbage could grow bigger than my head
    19. then there was a noise, a scream and inside I went
    22. as many as I can, inside
    23. twice
    24. still am
    25. loved it so much I bought a nice ‘scope
    26. at a Monsignour’s funeral, not cool

Leave a Reply

