What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 2

Here’s the next installment:
27. Had a food fight
28. Bet on a winning horse
29. Asked out a stranger
First time was the worst date of my entire life. I’ve already blogged about it so I won’t bore you with details. Second time was one of the weirdest dates of my entire life and I’ve blogged about that one too. But I’ll add to this that a friend of mine, Joni, in high school, showed me a senior picture of a friend of hers from Northern Illinois where she was from. I fell in love with the girl in the picture. Briefly communicated by with her by mail and considered forgetting my career goals in order to move to the city where she was going to attend university so I could commit myself to stalking her full-time. That all ended when she stopped writing back. Not sure why…
30. Had a snowball fight
So many times I’ve lost count. O.K., to be honest I never started counting. It never occurred to me that snowball fights were something I should keep track of. My favourite snowball fight memories all involve my wife and kids. The kids are way too big for me to beat in a snowball fight now but we had some great times digging tunnels, building forts and tossing them into the 10 foot snowdrifts we grow up here.
31. Screamed as loudly as you possibly can
Had a contest in elementary school, grade 1, to see who could whistle the loudest. The guys all leaned on the fence at the back of the playground and I ‘whistled’ from over by the seesaws. I didn’t really whistle, I screamed and tried to sound like a whistle. I won the competition by cheating. I’m so glad to finally get that off my chest and Ronnie, wherever you are, you should have gotten he gold instead of the silver man, I hope it didn’t cause you to start some downward spiral into drugs or working at the dollar store.
32. Held a lamb
33. Seen a total eclipse
34. Ridden a roller coaster
Oh yes! One of my favourite spine crushing and twisting things to do. First one that was memorable was at Opryland with my folks. Did a loop. Loved it. Only time I’ve ever been scared on a roller coaster: a couple years ago road one with my daughter Em next to me at 6 Flags. All I could think about was how small she looked in that see and how there was no damn way that harness was big enough or sturdy enough to ensure her safety. I kept one hand on her arm for the whole ride just in case she fell out or something. I’ve sworn off riding them with my daughter…
35. Hit a home run
36. Danced like a fool and not cared who was looking
37. Adopted an accent for an entire day
38. Actually felt happy about your life, even for just a moment
I’m a little sad this one’s on the list. I’m happy about my life a LOT. And I’m given to depression so I guess that’s saying a lot about how great my life is!
39. Had two hard drives for your computer
Hasn’t everyone?
40. Visited all 50 states
41. Taken care of someone who was drunk.
This can be a pretty regular event where I am. We’ve got some friends here who stop by on a regular basis to get some dry clothes, a cup of coffee or just sit and cry for a while. Sometimes they come and want to yell or complain or get a ride to detox. Sometimes they come in and tell me, “no, I haven’t been drinking…” while they exercise extreme will power to keep from falling off the seat they’re sitting in while they tell me what’s wrong with the world. Nearly all of them are deeply religious people who have a very strong conviction that God is a very angry God who talks to them all the time about what’s wrong with the rest of us. Some are children who’ve forgotten who they are and how to get home, many have gotten by so long by using people they don’t know where lies end and truth begins.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 2

  1. shellie says:

    So, if you didn’t highlight it, does that mean you didn’t do it? If so, I beg to differ with your exclusion of #27.

    🙂

  2. brianmpei says:

    Well Shellie, that’s what it’s SUPPOSED to mean. I wrestled with some of these, due to my tendency to over think everything, and couldn’t decide if I had “officially” done some things vs. “technically” done some things. Like #36 when I was at a party in high school that I made sure you weren’t at and danced around – at one point – with my underwear on the OUTSIDE of my jeans. I pretty much DID care who was looking so I couldn’t really count that. So food fight wise I know I’ve smeared food, tossed food but don’t recall being in a cafeteria that erupted in a massive barrage of goo. Am I over thinking that?

  3. shellie says:

    LOL!

    I’m glad you made sure I wasn’t around to see that special dance of yours! Don’t know that I could have handled that one!! I don’t think I’ve ever heard about that story before.

    And maybe I’m not recalling the facts correctly, but I thought you were sitting next to me at lunch when the really-official-barrage-of-goo-all-out-food-fight broke out in the cafeteria. Gunk was flying everywhere… I think I even got up the courage to catapult a single spoonful of peas into the air. hehe. Man I was bad. (*pfffft* Yah, right.) You were usually around when I was trying really hard to be bad… and couldn’t quite! haha! I was such a goody-goody wuss. (I always hated the way the Spirit would kick me in the teeth with a big ol’ helping of guilt if I did stupid stuff. ;)) Which brings me to one of my favorite “man, I’m stupid” stories… What are your recollections of Senior Skip Day??

  4. brianmpei says:

    Senior Skip Day??? I recall doing someting extremely lame that was technically skipping but not as ‘bad’ as I would have liked to have been…what did we do?

    The party was at Drake’s place and organized by Bob. Did my best to keep you two apart.

  5. shellie says:

    hahaha! That was my point… I was exceedingly lame at my attempted badness! 🙂 As I recall, we decided to skip (“because everyone was doing it, y’know!” Oi vey) and we walked allll the way into town, then got cold feet and walked back to school, making us a whole 15 minutes late for one class. hahaha! LAME!

    However, I love it that I can with a good conscious tell my own children now all the tales of my horrible badness. 🙂 I hope they grow up as bad as I was. (I was gonna say “as bad as we were”, but then I remembered your undies dance and changed it! 😉 Oh, and thank you for keeping Bob on the other side of the county from me. Much obliged!)

  6. BrianD says:

    30. Always fun, but it was especially fun at work one day, until Peter Pan got hit in the eye.
    31. Worked in a Halloween house in the mall for several years. Screamed so much it caused some permanent effects.
    33. At least two or three.
    34. Oh yeah. I still like them.
    35. I hit a few of them. I only remember one grand slam, but it was great.
    38. Most all the time. Can’t help it. Inherited the outlook for my dad.

  7. brianmpei says:

    Thanks for playing BrianD!

  8. sweetlybroken says:

    27. started with mashed potatoes and just got wild
    28.won $9.12, enough to retire
    30. even kept “emergency reserves” in my freezer
    31. it’s really good therapy
    32. 35 of them a couple of weeks ago, one left extremely unhappy with me
    33. the last one, still not blind
    34. LOVE roller coasters
    35. many, many, many years ago
    36. that’s where the champagne came in to play
    37. most fun I’ve had in a long time
    38. life is good why not truly enjoy it
    39. for a spell ’til they both died
    41. part of my DNA

Leave a Reply

