What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 4

It continues…

56. Alphabetized your CDs
Once every 6 months until I gave up. I have more CD cases than CDs now and most of my stuff is all mp3 now. In general I tend to pile things until my piles get disturbed by some outside force and then I’m forced to organize things all over again before returning to my pile system. Went on vacation/holidays once and came home to find that the secretary had “helped” me by straightening up my desk. I cried for 2 days and still haven’t found some of my stuff.
57. Pretended to be a superhero
Confession. After every movie I see with a ‘hero’ I will, at least mentally, be that ‘hero’ for some amount of time. I’m pretty sure this is one aspect of my mental illness but it’s fun for a while. The elusive Donna does not enjoy riding in the car with me after I’ve watched a James Bond movie.
58. Sung karaoke
59. Lounged around in bed all day
60. Played touch football
In high school we were always trying to organize co-ed games.
61. Gone scuba diving
62. Kissed in the rain
I’m pretty equal opportunity when it comes to kissing and weather conditions. I’m exclusive though in whose lips I’m kissing. I’ve been kissing the same pair of lips for 24+ years now and I’ll tell you something – it hasn’t gotten boring yet!
63. Played in the mud
64. Played in the rain
65. Gone to a drive-in theatre

66. Visited the Great Wall of China
67. Started a business
68. Fallen in love and not had your heart broken
69. Toured ancient sites
70. Taken a martial arts class
When I was in Uni I took about a month and half of classes and tried to get my good friend Tim involved as well. Eventually I was bored with it and life was very busy, too busy at least to keep up classes that were NOT turning me into Batman.
71. Played D&D for more than 6 hours straight
72. Gotten married
August 25th, 1984. Smartest thing I’ve ever done. We’ve had weeks that felt like years (and not in a good way) and we’ve had moments that seemed to be lasting forever (in a good way). We stay married, not because it’s easy, not because we never fight and not because we never make each other mad or make each other feel bad about ourselves. We stay married because of love and a commitment we made that we’re going to be stuck with each other forever so when we have troubles we better get them worked out because forever is a long time when you’re grumpy and trying to bench press a grudge. The secret of marriage, I think, is based on forgiveness, grace, communication and laughing together. A good bottle of red wine doesn’t hurt either.
73. Been in a movie
74. Crashed a party
75. Gotten divorced
76. Gone without food for 5 days
I once fasted for 21 days during a particularly difficult time in our lives. Lots of prayer coming from a place of weakness. It’s hard at first and at the end when you’ve set a time limit and your body starts arguing with your spirit that there’s really no difference between 20 and half days and 21 days.
77. Made cookies from scratch
78. Won first prize in a costume contest
79. Ridden a gondola in Venice
80. Gotten a tattoo
81. Rafted the Snake River
82. Been on television news programs as an “expert”
I’ve been interviewed for our local CBC news talking about the effect of some hard times on farmers on P.E.I. I have been and continue to be disgusted by unfair and unreasonable practices of our current government towards our agriculture industry here on the Island. Farmers are the sacrificial lambs here unless they’re business is big enough that they’re actually processors/manufacturers *cough*Irvings*cough* who dump a ton of money into island politics and island economy. O.K., should’ve introed that with “don’t get me started…
83. Got flowers for no reason
Was sitting in my office one day about 8 years ago. It was a brutal time for me and I was seriously doubting that God knew my name, where I lived or if he knew I was pretty sure he didn’t care. I was in the midst of praying to a God who I was feeling was giving me “the silent treatment” when there was a knock on my door. Someone came in with flowers for me just ‘cause they felt they were supposed to. This led into a completely different time of prayer than where it had started and it was the beginning of a series of little signs that God did, in fact, know right where I was and what I was up to.

…to be continued…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What have you done? (copy & bold your own) pt. 4

  1. BrianD says:

    60. For at least ten years we played first tackle football, then touch football, every Sunday the hometown football team was away, and we played in the mud (63) and in the rain (64).
    65. Only a few times
    67. I was an Amway distributor for a few minutes.
    69. Does Fort Ancient count?
    72. 21 years ago
    77. chocolate chip

  2. brianmpei says:

    BrianD – #67 Ah! Amway! How could I have forgotten my Amway/near divorce experience! Wow. I’ll have to write about that some time…

  3. sweetlybroken says:

    56. tenaciously I’m still trying
    57. at least once a day (Adam Ant or Mighty Mouse)
    58. it was ugly…..
    60. when my body was a whole lot younger
    62. makes a kiss sweeter
    63. 2 weeks ago
    64. 2 days ago
    65. thankfully we still have one here
    67. I am an industrious little ant
    68. not sure that’s possible
    72. smartest thing, dumbest thing I’ve ever done
    75. came very, very close
    76. I tried to but only lasted 2 days, not a wise thing for me to do, I am in awe of people who can
    77. sometimes I cheat though
    80. another thing on my “bucket list”
    83. on Wednesday, the house smells amazing

  4. shelleyperry says:

    You have never sung Karaoke??

  5. brianmpei says:

    Well, not counting church services, no, not really. At least not that I remember.

Leave a Reply

