Piles

paperBlowing snowdrifts to make paths around my house, from my front door and around my car inspired me today. I’ve been giving some time this afternoon to sorting out piles of stuff I’ve accumulated in my office over the last month (or so). Each pile has its order and reason and unless someone has messed with a pile it also has its own chronology.

I think I adopted this method over “in boxes”, file folders or having a place for everything and everything in its place because I tend to work best in random environments. I enjoy a certain amount of structure but it’s certainly small amount.

I like 24 hours, 7 days in a week but I also love that the months don’t all have the same number of days. While I have a favourite season I’m grateful that we have 4. And I’m happily married to one, wonderful woman but I enjoy that everyday I experience a facet of who she is that may have little or no connection to what happened with us yesterday. She is a sweet mystery!

Still, here I am today sorting out my piles and trying to figure out if a “to do” list wouldn’t make my life a little simpler and the decision not to put something down but AWAY might not be such a bad idea.

Then again, who knows how soon I’ll need this receipt from the grocery store for the apple and chicken salad sandwich I bought two months ago. It’s probably critical that this coupon, now expired, for a free rental at Blockbuster is here on my desk now just 8 months too late to be used.

But ask me where something is and I can take you right to the pile and probably even the correct level in that pile to find what you’re looking for. (and somewhere in a pile is my grammar book that tells me never to end a sentence with a preposition…)

Maybe I can get a paperblower for the office to make neat, cut paths like my snowblower at home. Of course, when I get home there’ll be some drifting to deal with…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

