Unrequited Love…the soundtrack

Wanting but not getting. Feeling that isn’t returned but we fool ourselves into the thinking it is or will be.

How much of my life is spent casting people in roles, supporting characters in the movie of ME, that they’ve never auditioned for or asked to be in? How many of my relationships are defined by how I want people to be, who I expect them to be, what I want them to be for me?

Here’s a video for a song by James Blunt that makes it onto the soundtrack of “Unrequited Love”. I’m taking suggestions in the comments below. Oh, and by way of warning, this is the original version of this song, performed live, not the radio version. That means James drops the F-bomb in the most appropriate place. Why does he do it and why do I think it’s incredibly appropriate? Because he’s disgusted with himself. He’s coming to grips with the illusion of a relationship he’s created and the loneliness he actually feels.

Without further ado:

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unrequited Love…the soundtrack

  1. shelleyperry says:

    I think the most painful unrequited love song (for soundtrack submissions) is “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (Bonnie Raitt). Ouch.

  2. brianmpei says:

    The biggest influence for me to settle on Blunt was the complete fantasy side of the relationship. Raitt goes even further, I suppose, and settles for something that she knows is not love. Ouch indeed.

Leave a Reply

