Home. Sick.

flu3 Home today. Gave in to the cold that’s been knocking at my door since Sunday night. Started as an allergic reaction to a house full of cats and went from there into my chest.

Why am I telling you this?

Mostly to confess that I’m a terrible sick person. I hate being sick and usually won’t admit being sick until the elusive Donna tells me that I’m in denial and need to see the doctor. This time I decided to be pro-active and, as Barney Fife would say, “Nip it! Nip it in the bud!” When I get sick I just want to be left alone which drives my poor wife crazy because everything in her wants to comfort. I can appreciate it now, I didn’t when we were first married. But after a little while I still need to be left in a dark room to either die or get better.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve been sick with a cold like this and I intend to be over it tomorrow whether it’s ready to go or not. There’s way too much life to live to let this mess with me. And I can only handle so much comforting…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in blogging, Life, Rambling, reality, Reflective and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home. Sick.

  1. BrianD says:

    Most men want to be left alone when they are sick, while most women want to be taken care of when they are sick. That’s why women want to care of their husbands, and most men want to leave their wives alone. We do for others what we want them to do for us. It takes a while to realize you have to do what the other wants, not what comes naturally to you.

    Good luck. I hope you feel better soon.

  2. sweetlybroken says:

    I’m with you Cracked, leave me to die or I’ll take you with me the next time you “check” on me. We are who/what we are particularily when we’re sick. Get better soon ’cause Sunday is a comin’.

Leave a Reply

