Here’s What I’m Thinking About This A.M.

resurrrectionPete Rollins has this posted at his blog and it’s what I’m thinking about this a.m.

My Confession: I deny the Resurrection
I am four days into my ‘Lessons’ tour and so far loving it. My time to date has been spent in Calvin College engaging in fascinating debates with Kevin Corcoran, Jason Clark, Jamie Smith, Lori Wilson and Michael Wittmer. Many subjects have been covered, but perhaps the most pertinent one revolved around the place and nature of belief in faith.

At one point in the proceedings someone asked if my theoretical position led me to denying the Resurrection of Christ. This question allowed me the opportunity to communicate clearly and concisely my thoughts on the subject, which I repeat here.

Without equivocation or hesitation I fully and completely admit that I deny the resurrection of Christ. This is something that anyone who knows me could tell you, and I am not afraid to say it publicly, no matter what some people may think…

I deny the resurrection of Christ every time I do not serve at the feet of the oppressed, each day that I turn my back on the poor; I deny the resurrection of Christ when I close my ears to the cries of the downtrodden and lend my support to an unjust and corrupt system.

However there are moments when I affirm that resurrection, few and far between as they are. I affirm it when I stand up for those who are forced to live on their knees, when I speak for those who have had their tongues torn out, when I cry for those who have no more tears left to shed.

At first read it seems merely a controversial way to introduce a topic. But if you give some time to this and sharpen the focus a little it becomes much more than mere hyperbole. How can I say I believe anything if that belief does not directly impact my way of living? And the other side of that coin is that the way I live directly reveals the truth of what I believe.

I would never say I deny the resurrection of Jesus, and yet my behavior often indicates that I do. I’m not robbing banks (yet) but I do neglect the continual conversation I can have with God. I’m not mixing up some meth (today) but I’m not sharing my lunch either. There are a million ways, big and small, by which I deny the reality in which I claim to live. I choose to live such a mediocre life when I know (or say) that the resurrection means there’s something greater, more satisfying, more fun and more meaningful in which I could be immersed. And all this thinking will be one more denial if it does not lead me to some action.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Confession, denial, Life, Meaning, reality, Reflective, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

