Thanks For Coming By

scale1For those who don’t read CV by feed, thanks for checking back again and again to see if I posted anything new. March got incredibly busy here. Our community just went through our first “all church” journey called “The Open Table”. You can Google that and find something that is not exactly what we did but it shares a lot of the same values we operated the experience on. It was an experiment in messy spirituality. Over 85 people joined in and I can honestly say it exceeded all of my expectation. What an incredible group of people to be sharing life with!

I’ve also hesitated in sharing something with everyone out in CVland. For the last month and a few I’ve been trying something new. Diet and exercise. It may shock you to learn that my lovely pear shaped bod had grown to about 216. C’mon, at least pretend to be shocked! The elusive Donna and I are big fans of “The Biggest Loser” and for the longest time I’ve watched and thought, “well, at least I’m not that big…”. At the same time I’ve been envious of the will power and results that contestants have experienced. The bottom line was that I was tired of being tired.

I used to be able to eat anything and everything and get a second or third or fourth plate full and it wouldn’t affect my weight – I might even lose weight expending all the energy eating and carrying heavy plates back from the buffet. Somewhere along the line that changed. I can say for sure that in the last 7 years (probably more) I’ve been on a steady addition program to my weight. I know it’s not true but it really feels like one day I clocked in at 180 pounds the next day the scale said 215.6 pounds. How did this happen?

Here’s my new deal. First, the diet. I try not to eat anything that’s white. Potatoes, sugar, rice, icing, white bread. I do my best to avoid any food that’s been processed on its way to my plate. Then it’s on to portion control. After that it comes down to a couple small snacks in between meals. I try to eat breakfast every day. I cut back on my coffee intake and dessert is out unless I’m at someone else’s table, in which case I take a “taste” but not the whole thing or the second piece of the whole thing (that I used to tell myself I was doing “for them” so they’d know I really liked it…).

Second is exercise. I’m going to a gym and working out every other day or at least 3 days a week. My ever evolving workout includes cardio for about 40 minutes, some weights, some swimming and some sauna. My big workout secret is that I go to a gym that caters mostly to an older crowd (thanks for the tip GregMac!). This gives me the great psychological advantage of being one of the “hardbodies” in the place – or at least one of the still-taut-skinned in the place. I’ve gotten a lot of encouragement and great advice from friends and that has really made the difference for me.

I’m not going to make this blog about my struggle to lose physical weight since it’s already been about me losing some metaphysical weight. But it’s worthwhile sharing this part of my journey as well. I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going. So far I’ve lost about 15 pounds and an inch or maybe two. Most of all I have more energy – even if I haven’t had more time…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, diet, Food, Friends, getting old, Life, reality, Relationship, weight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

