Paint By Numbers

starrynight-oil-paint-by-number-kit-766311I’ve been thinking lately about the tendency we have to want a paint by numbers way to follow Jesus rather than the jazz improv he calls us to.

I love the picture above. I don’t know if Van Gogh would be relieved or a little disappointed to discover that Starry Night was in that mid-range between easy and difficult.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paint By Numbers

  1. Michelle says:

    It’s so tempting to be given the answers and have the trail blazed for us. We doubt ourselves. And a lot of people with good intentions tell us we should doubt ourselves because they have the proper formula and nothing else will compare. Fortunately all masterpieces are original works of art. Jesus speaks to OUR heart -if we let him. First, we need to stop looking and start listening.

    Are you listening to this Michelle?

  2. Peter says:

    Perhaps part of the reason (or is it just my excuse) for wanting a paint by numbers way to follow Jesus is that we think it is too difficult. It seams difficult when I listen to religion. It seams easier when I read Matthew 22:34-40. The difficulty starts again when I hear what he wants me to do but I don’t want to do it.

    “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Mat 11:30

Leave a Reply

