Uncomfortable

When reality sits down with fantasy.

One uncomfortable moment follows another. So much fun…

Rather than pulling the plug when they had the chance, the interview continues.

Drew’s interview was later scrubbed from the 100 Huntley archives. Fantasy, in the end prevails, apparently this interview never actually happened.

I hope to bump into Drew someday and chat over a draft. Good times.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, denial, God, Meaning, media, reality, religion, tv, video. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Uncomfortable

  1. Phil says:

    Wow I like what this guy has to say, it’s unfortunate that Ken and Barbie and the fat guy in front of the phones at the end of part two…just don’t get it….Ken might but I don’t know if he’s allowed to let on that he does…

  2. Lori McDonald says:

    I loved this Brian. I’m sure my sister didn’t send in her regular tithe to 100 Huntley Street the week this aired. This open style of Jesus talk freaks out many people. My sister would have reached for her rosary and prayed for the soul of Drew during the first commercial break. I on the other hand find it a breath of fresh air. He reminded me somewhat of Greg (no last names needed). It is this refreshing honesty that has drawn me back to the church.

  3. duffy says:

    this was pretty cool

  4. brianmpei says:

    Honesty has fallen out of fashion as a Christian virtue.

  5. nathan says:

    Man, that was great… talk about adventures in missing the point. The dynamic between the three of them… poetry! Ken looked so confused for so much of that, and they were constantly talking about different things. Also, the PR at the end, “and if your feathers are ruffled a little bit, we are certainly not wanting to do that” I wonder what it must be like to not be able to ask questions…

  6. Yves says:

    I like.

  7. Yves says:

    I’d like to add…. refreshing.

    Thanks for posting Brian.

  8. Dean says:

    Insert LOUD SNICKER here! My favourite part is when she bursts out laughing at the holy hand grenade – and covers it by saying she was nervous! I think she let a little bit of her own reality shine through a little. Didn’t you immediately like her a little right there? 🙂 Now THAT was funny!

    • brianmpei says:

      I liked her as soon as she took “Ken & Barbie” as a compliment but insisted they weren’t all that. Ricky Gervais couldn’t have written this segment better if he was behind it!

  9. Brilliant! part two is especially entertaining. Drew has finally articulated my issues with the Church…especially the key problem: that “churchianity” has too many straight guys designing sets… 😉

  10. Ted says:

    I enjoyed a lot of what he had to say, and it’s funny that they chose not to air the interview. But, I’m a little hesitant to travel down the “If your theology isn’t 100% correct ” road. No, mine isn’t perfect I’m sure, but it’s not an all or nothing proposition.

  11. Michelle says:

    Hey thanks for posting this. I’ve found him online and will no doubt be wasting many hours listening to his interviews.

  12. Jessie says:

    Talk about arrogant! To think that this guy is displaying “real” christianity is a joke. I get turned off by people who think it is ok to insult people to their face or in most cases behind their backs without knowing anything about them. According to him, if you look like “Ken & Barbie” your a fake. But his uniform of choice is displaying the very thing that he is accusing “Ken & Barbie” of being. Look at me. I must be the real thing because I don’t look like you or talk like you. I am wearing the tough biker look and by talking rude and insulting I must be the real thing. I did not see Christ in him. I saw someone who has a chip on his shoulder who thought he needed to be shocking in order to reflect being a “real” christian. He spent most of the time talking about himself and what he does than the nature of Christ. If you really want to know someone, then why not get to know them first one on one before you start spewing out judgments and smart remarks. Jesus was cool because the way He treated people reflected who God is and that is love. You may think you are cool by being insulting, rude and different but don’t for a minute think you are reflecting Christ but the very opposite.

    • brianmpei says:

      Hmmm. Well, Drew definitely spent time talking about himself. He was invited to be a guest on their show to talk about himself and answer their questions about him and what he does so I’m not sure we can find fault for him for that.

      When they asked how Jesus makes a difference Drew talked about how Jesus hasn’t quit on him, admits his failings and short-comings, etc.

      He does like “Ken & Barbie”. He points out that they’re doing their thing for a part of the Church that is into what they do. He’s not putting them down. In part two he clearly says that one of things he likes about Reynold and Kathy is that they are the same on the air as they are off the air – ie. not phony – which would imply that he knows them beyond the show and that he’s not putting them down but describing how they are perceived.

      As for his outfit, as you can hear in the interview that Kathy persuaded him to wear his ‘street clothes’ rather than the suit and tie he brought with him for the show.

      Sorry Drew’s not your cup ‘o tea. I’m pretty sure that he’d understand that.

  13. Jessie says:

    Well, maybe I did come down on him pretty hard. He must have hit a nerve or perhaps a recent memory of feeling judged within the church by someone who doesn’t know me but thinks they do. Hard to get out of the box that’s nailed shut.

Leave a Reply

