Heretic

I was talking with someone on the phone this morning who called me a heretic. The conversation was moving so fast I didn’t have a chance to disagree, argue or defend myself. The longer we talked the more he kept dropping the word, particularly in reference to me but clearly using it in a way that he felt was positive.

Back in my Bible College days we didn’t use this term in a positive way.

After the phone call I decided to check in with Mr. Webster and see what his dictionary could tell me about the “h” word.

Main Entry: her•e•tic
Pronunciation: \ˈher-ə-ˌtik, ˈhe-rə-\
Function: noun
Date: 14th century
1 : a dissenter from established religious dogma; especially : a baptized member of the Roman Catholic Church who disavows a revealed truth
2 : one who dissents from an accepted belief or doctrine

And then I thought, “Damn, I guess I am a heretic.”

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in bible college, Christianity, Church, Confession, God, perception, reality, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Heretic

  1. Claire Muir says:

    I want ot be one too!…wait. According to the #1 definition…I already am!

  2. Brad says:

    And then he turned me into a Newt!

  3. sherry says:

    Hey Brian ,why does that person think your a heretic whats his reasoning?

    • brianmpei says:

      The discussion had to do with whether or not I’m teaching/preaching/talking/living something different than what’s been going down as “Christian” for the last few decades.

  4. drew says:

    Those dang telemarketers…

  5. sherry says:

    oh, well i guess Im a heretic too

  6. Darrell says:

    I am a heretic, but don’t tell anyone because I am a bit afraid of being burned at the stake.

  7. man i miss you! What i wouldn’t give to sit down over coffee (or wine or beer…) and laugh and mock and be heretics 🙂 But it’s comforting to know that we both still are, even if we’re not in the same city. It’s been exceptionally long since i’ve gotten to see you guys, but i think of you often.

    • brianmpei says:

      We were hoping to stay at your place on our upcoming road trip but then you had to go to Europe…
      We miss you too! Enjoy your summer in the birthplace of heretics! You know where we are and you know we’ve always got a room for you. Josh will be in F-ton starting this fall, try not to get him into trouble.

  8. Michelle says:

    As a Christian who believes in reincarnation I qualify for this title as well. If you really want to make a Christian uncomfortable share that little belief with them! Actually, I don’t like watching people squirm so I keep it to myself usually. It’s not an important part of my faith.

    • brianmpei says:

      I don’t think you need to go very far to create the ‘squirm’ reaction…

      “It’s not an important part of my faith…” is, perhaps, the key. I think we can trace, historically, Christians killing Christians over things that were non-issues for another generation.

Leave a Reply

