Adrift in L.A. part 2

We made a quick run for the Canadian Consulate in downtown L.A. The rental car was valet parked in the underground lot and we had to land at the Consulate before they closed for the day. We had an early morning surf lesson booked for the next morning and then some serious exploring to do in Hollywood.

I was relieved when we exited the elevators and found ourselves, almost instantly, in the Canadian Consulate. The place was empty and I assumed it was our lucky day as we’d be able to just walk right up, no line to wait in and get my official stamp that would get me back into Canada in a few days. I was less relieved, Josh called it “freaking out”, after the very polite security guard explained that the Consulate was empty because applications were only received in the morning between 8:30 and 10 a.m. Deep down I knew it would be completely un-Canadian to raise a fuss so I thanked him for the info and we walked back to the parking garage. Or at least that’s what Josh tells me happened, I really don’t remember anything until I was shocked out of my “freaking” when the valet handed me my keys and said, after our 45 minute visit, “That’ll be $35.”

I was pretty sure that at that rate I’d run out of money before we survived L.A.

Back in the car Josh navigated us back to the 10, headed west and in a few minutes we were in Santa Monica. My head was still scrambled by the “open but closed” Consulate and the wheels were spinning as I tried to mentally fix the situation or figure out what to do next. Our surf lessons were set for the next day during the exact hours the Consulate would be open again for applications.

I walked into the lobby of the hotel we’d booked for cheap on Priceline. When I saw how posh the place was I couldn’t believe we’d actually get in and out for what we’d paid. I gave them my name, proved who I was with my passport and the girl behind the desk handed me two hot, chocolate chip cookies and the keys to our room.

Walking back to the car I bit into my warm cookie and as a giant, gooey chip oozed its chocolaty goodness into my mouth I knew all would be well.

I was still sceptical about what kind of room we’d get. Up we went in the elevator, down to the end of the hall and inserted our card key. When the door opened I braced myself for a broom closet but what we found was a sweet suite. It was L.A. baby and we were livin’ large!

…to be continued…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Confession, Fable, Family, Food, L.A., Life, Rambling, Relationship, surf. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Adrift in L.A. part 2

  1. Michelle says:

    Ahh yes.. Priceline.. we’ve scored sweet digs for cheap too!!

  2. Michelle says:

    Funny how a warm, baked cookie can make everything better -at least for a little while!

  3. Darlene says:

    which did you up doing for the next am the consolate or the surfing ?

Leave a Reply

