Being Sick

There’s something both humbling and disturbing about being sick. Contrary to what some of my friends would tell you, I don’t get sick often. I get a sore throat, I get an infection, a bad cough, but rarely am I “no, you go ahead, I’ll just lay here and moan….” sick.

I’ve had my tonsils out. I’ve had stitches in one hand when I slid into second and got spiked by the short stop – the ump called me out but I know I was safe. Safe other than the spiked hand. Over time I’ve been in to the doctor with one thing or another and left with that one thing and a few others thanks to my tendency to empathize and adopt the symptoms of everyone around me.

Which is an especially bad character trait when you’re overnight in Emerge.

This last weekend I spent more time in Emerge than I’d have liked. My blood pressure went way up. I won’t say how high but from Friday to today it’s down 100 points and still high. Good times. I wasn’t exactly sure what was going on and in all we had 3 trips to the hospital. (For my American friends: no bill coming from insurance or the hospital and I didn’t wait 3 days for treatment. Sorry Republicans!) The time between visits to Emerge hasn’t been exactly thrilling either. Add to that a couple visits to my doctor and new fun with the most incredible muscle spasms in my lower back ever and you can get the recipe for a really long week.

What has been extraordinary has been the kindness of friends and family who have brought food, looked after my wife and kids, cut my grass, sat in Emerge with me, brought me a pile of mind distracting magazines and prayed like crazy for me. I’ve needed it all and appreciate it all.

So now I’m “resting” and trying to decide if I’m going to submit to medical and conventional advice on what comes next – don’t like it, don’t want to – so I will update you later. There are some great stories I’ll tell later – mostly true – of the experience so far – when I’m better.

I’ve got a pedicure scheduled for next week that I’ve got to be up for. I’ve definitely decided after this that I’m getting regular pedicures and I don’t care who finds out about it!

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in blogging, Confession, denial, Life, Meaning, perception, Rambling, reality, Reflective, truth. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Being Sick

  1. Lori McDonald says:

    I would stay away from the back wax though Brian as I’m sure that could bring your numbers back up. We love you and are glad you are starting to feel better.
    Sick sucks.

    • brianmpei says:

      They stuck some stuff on me at Emerge – twice – that gave me a taste of what waxing my chest would be like. AAAAAARGGGGGHHH!!!

      • Lori Nelson says:

        LOL I know the stuff your talking about, how ever being a women I didn’t get the privilege of pain when they ripped it off.

        So now that I have this in writing, “I will” hold you to it. We are happy your feeling better. See you Wed!!!

  2. duffy says:

    I often wonder what Luke would have us do in these types of situations.

  3. Michelle says:

    Being sick, really sick, always told me something about myself or my lifestyle that I had been dutifully ignoring. I hope you’re listening 🙂 The trick is to remember this lesson even after you feel better -which I hope comes real soon!

  4. Dede Nicholson says:

    I love that painting on your post. Caught my attention right away. Who/what is it?
    Sorry you have been so sick. I would suggest LISTENING to medical advice (as long as it doesn’t seem way out there)..We want you around with us much longer!!!! 🙂
    Still praying.!!
    Do you need some more movies? We have lots. (and they’re not all chick flicks lol)

  5. Justin says:

    Hey Brian, sorry to hear you were so sick, I can absolutely empathize with you. It is miserable, stressful and frustrating to deal with a new illness that was never an issue before. Hope you’re truly feeling better, and that there are no ongoing or long-term symptoms. Let me know if there’s anything Kara and I can do for you guys.

  6. Claire Muir says:

    Brian,
    Be well, man. Praying for your complete recovery.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

