What do you say?

Here’s a clip from our good friends over at 100 Huntley Street. It features an interview with Greg Boyd. Lots here to think about. I’m offering it without any commentary because I’d like to hear your take on what Boyd has to say. After everyone weighs in I’ll offer my own thoughts.

I’ll only make this one comment. I’ve got a LOT to say about what Boyd says in this video.

Give it a watch. It’s about 13 minutes. I would really like to hear from you lurkers, regular commenters and people who’ve accidentally stopped by here on your way somewhere else.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, faith, God, Greg Boyd, Meaning, ministry, pastor, preaching, reality, religion, theology, truth, tv. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What do you say?

  1. laurie macphee says:

    hmmmm…..i really felt the part of what makes jesus beautiful and a life lived for Him…but i especially liked the part where he says….jesus didn’t come to give us the new and improved version of ceasar….or if we vote a certain way or not a certain way then our christianity is suspect….also like when he said…..this kingdom is not of this world…when we work together it will always look like jesus…..we shoot at eachother because we are not shooting at the real enemy…..i like and agree that our hope needs to be that the kingdom of god will transform the church as well as the world…. i know i need that and want that transformation to happen in my life as messy as that sometimes means it may get but as long as we continue to live for Him i believe He will continue to let me grow in Him. AMEN! and oh yeh….thanks for sharing!

    • brianmpei says:

      Thanks for taking the time to watch and respond! What you said, “i like and agree that our hope needs to be that the kingdom of god will transform the church as well as the world…” Wow. That’s a huge declaration!

  2. Judy says:

    This guy has it.

    I love his T-shirt; it says everything. “It’s against my Relationship to have a Religion.” It’s what I have felt all my Christian life but couldn’t seem to put it into the right words to convey it to people who were trapped in that world of religiosity. I’ve often felt that the church patriarchs like Peter, Paul, and Phillip would spin in their graves at what the Western church has become – something the Master never intended, full of politics, using the world’s methods to try to bring down the kingdom of Heaven on earth. Jesus’ kingdom of God – or kingSHIP of God – is of the heart.

    That’s something I can get behind.

  3. duffy says:

    I liked it. Lots of good stuff. I think our ‘conquering’ mindset has taken the focus off unconditionally loving people, as those who profess to be ‘born anew’ should love by nature, and not with ulterior motives, even if those motives might not necessarily be bad.
    The goal of love is love, not results, even if love wants results; but the end goal of love is only the unconditional love itself.

    • brianmpei says:

      Something else Boyd talks about is that the mindset of the world is that if you win it proves God is with you and the mindset of the Kingdom is that if God is with you, you can afford to lose. How’s that for trying not to tip my hand…?

  4. Michelle says:

    I subscribed to Greg Boyd’s sermons when I got my iPod and I haven’t unsubscribed yet! I would say my own thoughts/beliefs about what it means to follow Jesus are very similar.

    Sometimes I really struggle with the way we Christians do church. One quick example: communion. I think that Jesus was inviting us to gather together for meals on a regular basis -meals in which we collectively turn our attention to Him. These days that invitation has so many formal rules and traditions surrounding it that in some churches I’m not good enough to share in communion (My marriage wasn’t blessed by the Catholic Church so I’m officially living in sin.) and in others it just feels awkward -like a quick time-out for a forced intimate moment. I know some people really feel something inspirational during communion but it just hasn’t been my experience. It just leaves me hungry for something bigger. I mean c’mon, if this meal is going to be a symbol of His love, or a way in which we honor Him, or just a meal shared together with Him, then we can/should do better than a little stylized wafer -we need to feast together!

    I guess that’s how I feel about the church/Christian religion in many respects. It’s become so organized and been reduced to the simplest, most practical way of doing things. It’s kinda boring. I want more.

    But then I hear people sharing real struggles and showing genuine love and care for each other; I hear an inspiring sermon and see the sacrifices and transformations that Jesus is leading us to experience together and I can’t imagine being anywhere else -even if we haven’t got it quite right yet.

    What was the question again?

    • Judy says:

      Sincere followers of Jesus living in the Western church culture live in a constant state of cognitive dissonance. For us, this is the state of mind where we try to reconcile the heart’s belief with the reality of living in an organization we disagree with in practice. I say organization for a reason, because the real Church is an organism. Try to organize an organism, so that this piece fits here and no, lop that off and put it over there – and you kill (or at least seriously maim) the organism. Yet we stay – because we see vignettes of the transformation that Jesus can accomplish in someone’s life, lived out in honesty and transparency, in community. Those are the times we can’t wait for it to be Sunday again (why does it have to be just Sunday and mid-week?). In between those vignettes, yes – it’s boring and in some cases, disturbing. Rules supersede His leading. Tradition eats away at spontaneity. Religion replaces relationship. In such an atmosphere, the organism dies a slow death.

      But God invested everything He had into this living thing He calls the Church (the called-out ones) – and the only way we can cooperate with Him is to desperately desire Him above all other considerations, listen to His heart and act according to His Spirit’s leading. This might mean we have to re-examine the mind-sets and traditions upon which we have come to rely. Communion (the way we have come to understand it in the Western church) is one of them. There are a host of others. Order of service, announcements, kids’ church, style of music, even Bible studies in some cases, can become iconic, sacrosanct. Idols. There IS so much more. Within the walls AND without.

      Jesus never meant for us to live such small, petty lives as to argue about the color of a hymn book or about whether Adam had a belly button – churches have actually split over things like that. In the meantime, the people around us die inside while shaking their heads at the hypocrisy of it all, refusing to come to Jesus, the giver of Life, because of religion.

  5. Brent says:

    I LIKE it!!! I’m tired of people speaking about their religion (and mine, by extension) as if it’s a club they have joined and now that they believe the basic tenets, their work is done. His is a very refreshing presentation of what Jesus came to accomplish for and through us. I did note that he states he wishes to be outside the “system”, but the system is what is undoubtedly the source of his ability to move outside of “it”. The cynical part of me (I think it’s a small part :>) ) wonders if he would be in his inner-city, relationship oriented church without the Christian book selling system sending him very sizable royalty cheques each month. The problem is that those living that type of Christian life do not have the 100 Huntley’s calling them to set up an interview.

    • brianmpei says:

      I’ll just add a comment here that Boyd, like Chan, gives away more than he keeps from royalties. I’ll also add that his personal life has been profoundly touched by the sweet mercy of suffering.

  6. Nathan says:

    From my distracted viewing of the video (hey, I’ve got 3 kids….) I would say that overall I would agree with what he said.

    I like the fact that he was able to give a reasonable definition of the Kingdom of God and also differentiate that from the church.

    I also like what he has to say about following Jesus, His will, His ways, being empowered by the Spirit to do so, etc.

    I can also agree that some of our movements to ‘take over the nation for Jesus’ via political means/power is not what Jesus had in mind. In fact, I’d say that it’s the opposite of Jesus’ ways and go so far as to say that in doing so, the church takes on the role of the second beast in Revelation 13.

    I like what he has to say about religion vs people who love and follow Jesus.

    And I also like what he has to say about the direction his church is going, asking questions about if what they are doing is ‘Kingdom’ or authentic community in Christ.

    • brianmpei says:

      Living in the tension of what’s next. I love that too. Oops, I’m giving away my prejudices already! As a culture we run from tension but I’m more and more convinced it’s the only way to find a radical middle that brings real life.

      Thanks for taking it on while juggling 3 kids Nathan!

      And thanks everyone for your comments, insights and questions. Michelle has me really whirling about communion!

  7. Greg says:

    Bang on; you should play it in church Sunday then open the mike for the rest of the service!!!!!!!!!!!1

  8. Donna Wigmore says:

    I like what he says and I feel like we are in the same process, and yes, it’s uncomfortable and we’re not all on the same wavelength about very much. But in the last while God has revealed His son to me in a new way, I know Jesus in a way I never have and it is in communion with my people. (My people, they’re gifts to me and I know that God has many more gifts for me waiting out there in community that communes.) I agree with Michelle about communion. My daughter is feeling uneasy about communion because she thinks it should be a meal, too. I think that meal is still symbolic of the rest of our lives; we continue to commune through the rest of our days till we get to feast together again and talk about what God is doing in our lives and where He is taking us. Ear to the ground, awaiting further instructions.
    Meanwhile, we love the people who stick with Christianity as a religion like there’s no tomorrow. I didn’t like the way he called them mean and then tried to retract. Then I considered what Jesus said to the Scribes and the Pharisees and I don’t know. I don’t know, but how people change isn’t something I can manage. Not even my own change, it’s up to the Holy Spirit.

  9. Don Rousu says:

    Is it enough to light a candle, or do we also have to curse the darkness?

Leave a Reply

