$200 Conversions

Here’s a quick clip from Pete Rollins.

I think often we get to the front porch and stop there. We can feel the warmth of home, the security of proximity, the comfort of the porch light being on during our dark nights and for some that is enough. All the while he invites us in to sit beside the fire and have long chats, come ‘further up and further in’ to discover the God we hardly know. And yet we resist the invitation because we’ve got enough to make us feel spiritual, brace us against the cold, shore us up at our weaker or uncertain points and somehow that’s all we want. As long as I’m on my way to heaven…

“I would like to buy $3 worth of God, please. Not enough to explode my soul or disturb my sleep, but just enough to equal a cup of warm milk or a snooze in the sunshine. I don’t want enough of Him to make me love a black man or pick beets with a migrant. I want ecstasy, not transformation. I want the warmth of the womb not a new birth. I want about a pound of the eternal in a paper sack. I’d like to buy $3 worth of God, please.” – Wilbur Reese

At some level I suppose it’s fear, fear of what what we’ll find further up and further in. But I doubt it’s fear of what we’ll find inside about God. I suspect it’s fear of what we’ll find about ourselves. I’ve been married to the same woman, the elusive Donna, for 26 years now and I’ve known her for 28. To this day I’m still discovering new things about her and in that process discovering even more about myself. In this superficial world in which we move and live and have our being it’s difficult not to be seduced by the $200 conversion.

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, discipleship, emerging church, faith, God, Pete Rollins, Reflective, Relationship, theology, video. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to $200 Conversions

  1. Judy says:

    Wow. RADical. Love the clip!! The analogy of the sunken ship, simply beautiful.

    God creates the desire, makes the hole. THEN He fills it – fills us – makes us whole. Reminds me of the teachings of John Eldredge, an author who I respect a great deal, in his books, Journey of Desire, and Waking the Dead – the glory of a heart fully alive.

    Thanks for sharing this!

    • Carolyn Read says:

      Thanks Brian for yet another great post! Jesus paid EVERYTHING to show us our pricelessness. So often I realize our precious Jesus needs to save me from myself, and my inability to know that perfect love that casts out all FEAR!! Knowing we are safe in the arms of someone who loves us this much should bring JOY unspeakable into my life. My need to FOCUS on the truth of what Jesus says ( ANDTHE KNOWING OF THAT TRUTH) – All things work towards good for those who love the LORD, and have been called according to his purpose. HElP me Lord to LOVE according to your purposes!! This is truly where I know my strength comes from. Now for me to get out of the way is where the battle truly happens!!!!!!!!!!!

      • brianmpei says:

        “Getting out of the way.” I think you’ve named one of the greatest obstacles to spiritual growth Carolyn! Thanks for adding your thoughts!

  2. Brent says:

    Hi Brian. Interesting clip. Sounds very familiar, but with different packaging.

    The Joel Osteen’s and many other Christian church leaders are promising way more than $200.00. That’s chump change compared to the wealth that’s supposedly awaiting converts. And the even better part? We don’t even have to change – we can maintain all our worldly desires and habits, we’ll just enjoy them from a more elevated moral standpoint. Our old self doesn’t have to die at the cross, it just needs to be tweaked a bit.

    $200 now, or riches down the road – pay me now or pay me later.

  3. Nathan says:

    “Desire is not satisfied in God, desire is born in God.”

    I like that quote. Got me thinking….

    • Justin Perry says:

      The way I think of it is: If desire were to be satisfied then one of two things must happen. Either the relationship must end or desire must deepen. A relationship will go stagnant if there is no desire and it will die away. So a new desire must be born with the fulfilling of the first desire. My whole life I had a desire to meet God (not knowing he was the one I desired or that he put that desire there in the first place), once I met him that desire was fulfilled but a new desire was born–to learn about him and his love. Desiring the ocean means every new tide or current or wave or storm can bring a new path for desire to go.

  4. Donna Wigmore says:

    I just want to know one thing; does anyone else find the background music to be extremely distracting? Clips like this,(there’s that other guy, Rob someone, who has excellent messages) are almost painful for me to sift through them because of the camera style and the soundtrack. I will have to give him another try at a more serene moment cause he caught me with the whole idea of God awakening my desire.

Leave a Reply

