Mumford & Sons Gets Me In The Mood

Oddly enough, I’m not a big fan of Christmas. I’m big on Christ but not so much the holiday as we observe it today.

Nevertheless, today I listened to Mumford & Sons sing this one, an advent carol/hymn and I find myself “strangely moved”. Advent is all about anticipation. It’s what we call that time before the time that’s coming. Kids still get it at this time of year, around birthdays and summer holidays.

I’m eager today for the time that’s coming and I’m even getting in the mood for the Christmas season. May we all walk through the brier patch of materialism, the lie of the lack and the memory of loss this season unscathed and embrace the birthday boy we celebrate.

Here’s Mumford & Sons, I hope they do for you what they did for me…

What gets you in the mood for Christmas?

Peace!

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in christmas, Confession, faith, God, Life, Reflective, theology, video and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mumford & Sons Gets Me In The Mood

  1. Don Rousu says:

    I, too, have not been a big fan of Christmas when the whole church tends to fall into a spiritual slumber because of all the pious mush. It helps to revel in the scandal of the incarnation and that the divine Word makes the flesh a dwelling of glory, but now I slip into preaching . . .

    I do feel better about riding the wave of Christmas consumerism this year because I asked people to buy me pigs, chickens, and cows to give away to the poorest of the poor. The thought of that makes me happy!

  2. Judy says:

    The other day I was feeling the need to get into the Christmas spirit – I was all worn out with shopping for wants people think are needs, etc. Stressed, pressed, and depressed.

    So I went to YouTube. And I started free-associating. Christmas specials. Charlie Brown Christmas. The Grinch. And my mind went back to Christmases several years ago and specials that were on TV every year but which are no longer considered politically correct or perhaps considered to be too old-fashioned. Like “The Selfish Giant.” Don’t you know I found it on YouTube? it was in 3 parts but it did my heart good to watch him (after all these years) in perpetual winter broken by the sound of children’s laughter, learn to love the Boy in the corner tree; the love transformed him inside. I watched and wept as he grew older and more kind before finally the Boy came back and took him to live in His garden.

    Every Christmas morning, our family gathers around the Christmas tree, and someone reads the Christmas story from a modern version… and then we all sing “Happy Birthday Jesus” … and watch each other open our gifts one by one so we can appreciate all that the other person has done to pick out something he or she thought the person would like. In past years we have invited people who would otherwise be alone on Christmas, to have Christmas dinner with us.

    I know there are some who have scrapped Christmas altogether, calling it a pagan holiday. They’re all pagan holidays. Big deal. It’s what we make of it – the opportunity we seize to intentionally celebrate the wonderful gift that God gave to us when He gave us Jesus – that makes the Christmas spirit come alive.

    Sure, there’s a lot of dirty bathwater out there. But the Baby is still here.
    Merry Christ-mas!!

  3. Michelle says:

    I haven’t really come around to doing Christmas yet. We don’t have one single decoration -it could be July in here come Christmas day. We keep a tight budget, which at $250 still seems like too much to spend when we have no real want/needs. But it is so sweet to think of just the perfect little something for someone you love. This year I did all my Christmas shopping -first to last gift -in 2 hours.

    I do love the old Christmas classics and some of the music. I’m not a grinch really -just not as involved as most. I think the next few years will probably bring a lot of changes. The girls will be old enough to be understand all the messages they are being exposed to and probably feel lack when they get their one gift. We’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

  4. andrew bryce says:

    My youngest son Kev introduced me to this music over a year ago and it became some of the most meaningful music in my healing this year. I love it when new musicians pick up old tunes and re-work them with their own style. Every Christmas has it’s surprises and for me this year it’s life itself. Thanks Brian for posting this song.

  5. Donna Wigmore says:

    This was so lovely, I want to get the lyrics. I love “O Come Divine Messiah” by The Barra MacNeils and “The Rebel Jesus” and “Il est Nee, le Divine Enfant” by The McGarrigles. We are not much into spending money we don’t have on things we don’t need this year. My sisters and brothers get together to sing carols and eat and maybe dance at least once during the season. And that is a beautiful thing. We usually get together to make bread dough ornaments which make super cheap but unique gifts. My stepson has always had a problem with getting everything at Christmas and then nothing the rest of the year, so that taught me a lesson. Now I am more likely to give gifts out of the blue than to have a blow-your-mind gift for Christmas or a birthday. It’s funner too!

Leave a Reply

