Why I Despair

Every once in a while I am reminded that there’s a bigger world out there and I’m glad I’m not in it. Here’s a vid clip advertising an upcoming conference that part of me is attracted to it – like when you drive by the scene of an accident and find yourself drawn to look as you pass by. A bigger part of me despairs over stuff like this.

So why am I sharing this with you? Because somewhere your friends are likely going to see this or something very similar and they’ll ask you one day, with concern in their voice, “So, this is what you’re into…?”

So imagine Jesus, 2000 years ago, talking to a crowd of people who are oppressed by a pagan civil authority that denigrates their sacred places and objects, burdens them with rules and taxes and political structures. They’re also plagued by their own leaders who ought to help them up or help them out but who, instead, pile on the pain and the pressure. And Jesus says to this crowd, “I’ve come so that you might have the truth and the truth will make you free*! *And of course by ‘free’ I mean you’ll giggle, grunt, yell “Woooooah!”, jerk around, spin your head and generally act the fool!”

“We were looking for some freedom from oppression or the weight of guilt or the separation we feel from God in his silence!”

“Um, yeah, sorry, don’t have any of that. But who’d like to randomly double over and yell Woooooah!? Fire tunnel starts to my left!”

And the crowds walked away heavy in heart and said to one another, “Verily, we came looking for someone who teaches with authority but we found one who has been out in the heat too long!”

But in America in 2011…

About brianmpei

Stumbling towards what comes next.
This entry was posted in charismatic, Christianity, Church, faith, God, ministry, religion, theology, truth, video. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why I Despair

  1. Nathan says:

    I have nothing against genuine ‘phenomenological responses’ to the Holy Spirit. But this is absurd. Got to love charis-mania.

    I find this manipulative, playing up phenomenon to appear more spiritual and with more authority. Does he act like this on the street with the poor? How about in the prisons? Or hospitals?

    I know that, barring the most extreme circumstances, this type of response is something you can choose not to do – especially when you’re making an advertisement video.

    But hey, there’s a little pharisee in all of us, so God bless him, and thanks Brain for the invite, but I’ll not be attending.

  2. Lori McDonald says:

    I don’t think this guy is moved by the holy spirit, I think he has tourettes syndrome.
    I’m gonna pray for him.

  3. brianmpei says:

    And this is the thing, I tend to experience the Holy Spirit on a daily/hourly/moment by moment basis. Those manifestations tend to be giving away more than I want to, giving time to someone that I’d rather spend on me, admitting that I’d rather spend EVERYTHING on me, forgiving the last person that hurt me, apologizing to the last person I hurt, getting hungry for justice and desperate for mercy.

    God have mercy, Christ have mercy.

  4. kathie says:

    Sorry Brian – I found that hilariously funny. At times like this I am so glad to be Presbyterian. No one would ever expect that from us.

    Lori, I thought about tourettes too 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    I saw this over at Christian Nightmares. I admit it is a guilty pleasure of mine to peek at that site from time to time. Yes, like watching a train wreck: http://christiannightmares.tumblr.com/

  6. Marion says:

    Sorry Brian, I laughed too…..It kind of reminded me of my younger days when I wasn’t so well behaved and spent alot of time hanging out with friends who enjoyed having few to many…I knew someone like that, and he wasn’t drunk on the Holy Spirit:)

Leave a Reply

